We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Magical Monteviot Lights at Christmas

We went to the Monteviot Lights Trail - a festive light and sound show which was really imaginative... read more

Reviewed 9 December 2023
Charlotte M
The INCREDIBLE Monteviot Lights

Went for the lights show and it was absolutely incredible. The best I have seen anywhere in the... read more

Reviewed 7 December 2023
axelnm
,
United Kingdom
Read all 56 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
39
12
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
39
12
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water garden wide variety of plants well worth the entrance fee well worth a visit wander around gardeners shrubs honesty house arrows paths stroll signage box
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2015

We called in to Monteviot House Gardens as part of a weekend trip to the Scottish Borders. They are well worth a visit although little known by most tourists. Leave the A68 at Ancrum and take the minor road signposted Nisbet. The adult fee is £5 per person but well worth the money as there is an interesting signposted trail around the Gardens with lovely views over the river. The whole gardens are maintained by a staff of three and it is a credit to their skill and dedication that gives the grounds such appeal. Allow 1 to 2 hours to take it all in, the newly opened Garden of Persistent Imagination certainly inspires the gardener within you.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2015

£5 per person entry (only concession is for RHS members) but well worth it as a very stunning and varied garden to look at and wander around and also quite surprisingly large. Lots of different areas with some very new parts as well as well established parts, everything well kept. Not bad for a private garden set in a beautiful landscape leading from the house to the river.

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank carronbrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 July 2015

I've always driven past the road end of Monteviot house but have never actually taken the time to visit. We initially planned to just visit the gardens. It costs £5 to visit the gardens and £5 to visit the house. The gardens really were lovely and very well kept. The location is stunning (I am a bit biased however with being from the Scottish Borders!). After going around the gardens we decided to go and have a look in the house. I didn't realise that someone gave you a tour, a real bargain for £5!! The house is actually quite surprising. The building itself has been added to over time so not the typical "old" house look. Loved the inside, especially the library and the additions to the house by Schomberg. Our guide was excellent (unfortunately I didn't get his name) and was so knowledgeable. Would highly recommend Monteviot House and would encourage Scottish Borders people to visit what is on your doorstep!

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank ScottishLassie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 May 2015

my wife and I visited this garden and were impressed
the friendly head gardener, the quality of the garden and the different areas to visit around the garden are very good including a little bit of humour
the views across the river are lovely and the wooded walk was nice with the bluebells in flower.
there are different areas and you are given a simple map to find your way around and is another area under construction which it looks good already.
definitely worth a visit
TIP - wear sensible shoes when visiting

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank mmcquade
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2015

Two and a half men do sterling service in this demanding garden. Their welcome we found, was warm, friendly and informative. On this visit we were impressed by the neat and extensive hedge trimming, the well-cut lawns, and the up-to-date pruning. The garden is explored with the assistance of a helpful map and clear indicator arrows that gently guide without denying visitors the opportunity to explore, other than private areas. The slope of the land towards the river lends itself to the establishment of several delightful vantage points. Weeds are mostly controlled through the generous use of bark mulch, though there are places and paths where the battle has been lost! New features are steadily added to the gardens, despite the regrettable attentions of vandals. This was a peaceful place to spend a happy hour or so, even in somewhat inclement weather.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank JohnCEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews