We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT LUNCH”
Review of The Carters Rest

The Carters Rest
Ranked #6 of 26 Restaurants in Jedburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT LUNCH”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Menu had a wide variety + children's menu. We finally settled on: two for the soup/baguette combination, two boys (one soup / one chips) while I had the beef and mushroom pie. All very happy with the meals and excellent service. Big meals at a reasonable price. If you plan to go for dinner - suggest you book, otherwise you may miss out on an excellent meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OZ-FAMILY1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    150
    46
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good and not so good.....”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We ate here on 2 consecutive evenings. The meals on the first evening were really good but our second visit was disappointing. On this occasion we both chose from the specials board. I had lamb rump. It was quite toughand the sauce was far too sweet. My husband had roe deer with haggis. The haggis overwhelmed the meat and there was far too much. No member of staff asked if we were enjoying our meals. We were disappointed because we had enjoyed our first visit so much.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2pomsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were spending a few days in the Borders and found this a great pub. We needed to eat early evening as there were young children in our family group and we found the early evening menu ideal.
Good friendly service.
Reservation recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobbyCHelensburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
“Nice Pub”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Called in for drinks on route to our evening meal.
Well stocked bar, prices very reasonable.
Lovely beer garden
Restaurant looked well set and inviting, menu good prices very good

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millyannpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A tasty plate full”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Can't beat the food at all and the helpings are decent I struggle personally to eat two courses. Great service and pleasant staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 504graemeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Carters Rest also viewed

 

Been to The Carters Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing