We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Abbey View Cafe & Bookshop
Ranked #7 of 26 Restaurants in Jedburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: A family-run cafe and bookshop. We provide drinks, snacks, meals and cakes throughout the day (hot food available 10am - 4.30pm). Meals are made fresh to order; baking and soups are homemade. Lavazza coffee
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The menu said lentil soup which is one of my favourites but this soup was so thin and watery ,more like a consomme.It had a few vegetables and some lentils in it, also it was rather tasteless,so disappointing.It was expensive as well.
Then to make matters worse the chair was so hard that I had to take off my jacket and fold it up to make a cushion to sit on.
Our pot of tea was fine,no problem with that.
However the cafe was so small and cramped that we had to get up the minute we had finished as others were wanting our table.
There was a nice view of the ruined abbey across the road.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chesswidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    46
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very charming cafe”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This week we have been here again after visiting it last year. We especially drove by Jedburgh to go to Abbey view on our way to the ferry in New Castle. People are very welcoming. The food is fresh and vey good. I always take the scones with cream and home made jam. These are delicious. We we return to Scotland we definitely will pass The Abbey View cafe again.

Helpful?
Thank Manfred V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

What a lovely little find. Visiting The Borders after a ten year absence and this wasn't here when I left. Very friendly staff cheap prices and a view of the Abbey to boot highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great little place”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I dont really want to write a good review for this little cafe, as I dont want to be disappointed when I visit and cant get a table. The staff are very welcoming and the home made cakes are fab. The food is prepared as its ordered so be prepared for a wait, its worth it. I have been a few times now as I am a regular visitor to jedburgh and have been impressed each time I have visited. I do use other cafes in jedburgh but this one is the only one that consistently delivers to my expectations.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kd5764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
209 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“What a charming litle cafe.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We called in to this café one lunchtime last week for a well needed refreshment. Really good sandwiches were freshly made together with delicious apple cake and freshly made tea. What more could you ask for on a hot day. The staff were very friendly and if you are up in that part of the country do call in.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abbey View Cafe & Bookshop also viewed

 

Been to Abbey View Cafe & Bookshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing