We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short but sweet”
Review of Meadhon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meadhon House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jedburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Short but sweet”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were passing through the borders. The owner was very friendly and helpful in advising us on restaurants, as well as things to do and see in Jedburgh. Our good-sized room was clean, airy and very comfortable with a lovely view of the abbey. The breakfast was excellent, overall a very good B&B in a lovely little town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizBennett84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floJed, Owner at Meadhon House, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Meadhon and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
63
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Without a doubt this is one of the best B and B's we've stayed in. The host ensured we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay, and it felt as though nothing was too much hassle. With a choice of breakfast times, flexibility with the menu, and very personal service, the breakfast was superb. The room was very clean indeed, with some excellent little bit of detail- the complementary Easter chocolates were a particular hit! If you are wanting to break a journey up and need somewhere cosy and relaxing to stay, look no further.

Unfortunately, I cannot say anything positive about the location. The on-street parking isn't a huge issue, and you can park in town if its a problem. The real issue is Jedburgh, and the local shop owners and restauranteurs reluctance to abide by the basic laws of retail and service... We arrived on Easter Sunday to find the place empty and nowhere open- so we assumed it must be due to it being a Sunday. Roll on Monday, and again the place was like a ghost town. One restaurant open for one sitting, or several take aways.

So in summary, this is a fantastic B and B, and if you need to stay in Jedburgh don't go anywhere else. If this B and B was anywhere that we frequently visit, we would chose it every time, but we won't be returning to Jedburgh any time soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNedbertFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floJed, Owner at Meadhon House, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Oh dear, Jedburgh hasn't made a good impression on you. I am going to pass on your comments about the town to the local traders association to see if we can improve things. I am delighted that you enjoyed yourselves at Meadhon House and I do hope that some time in the future you will give the town of Jedburgh a chance to redeem itself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed here for a Motorsport event. The welcome we received was warm and friendly. We were asked what time we wanted breakfast rather than the usual "breakfast is at...". The room was clean and comfortable with all the facilities one could need. The breakfast was well cooked and presented and freshly and individually prepared. A great place to stay

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floJed, Owner at Meadhon House, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B. I'm glad we were able to make you comfortable in what turned out to be a very cold weekend for the rally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed for a long weekend. Our family room was light airy and very comfortable. There are lots of little touches which were so lovely. The shower was great with lots of power.
Breakfast was beautiful which lots of choice and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floJed, Owner at Meadhon House, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Meadhon House. So pleased that we were able to help make your stay an enjoyable one and glad that you all had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed for one night at the Meadhon House on our way up from Yorkshire to the Highlands. We'd never visited the Borders before and were especially keen to visit Jedburgh Abbey. It was everything that you could hope from a B&B; clean, comfortable and very welcoming. Small touches like leaving a light on the hall window in the evening were impressive. Comprehensive advice on the local hikes have tempted us to return for a bit longer. Breakfast was excellent and fed us until the evening. Our room was on the top floor and couldn't be described as vast but not cramped.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oaky_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floJed, Owner at Meadhon House, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We hope to continue to improve and provide the best service we can and look forward to seeing you at your next stay at Meadhon House.

Kind regards,

Joyce & Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Meadhon House for one night while passing through the Scottish Borders region. What a wonderful place Meadhon House is and what wonderful hosts. The guest house dates from 17th century, however is cosy, comfortable and homely. It is located within walking distance of Jedburgh town centre, castle and abbey. The town itself is glorious. A very picturesque village. I would highly recommend a stay at Meadhon House if you are within distance of Jedburgh. It's an experience My wife and I will remember for a long long time.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed for one night, rooms are lush, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was fab.

Couple who run the B&B are lovely.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maranna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jedburgh
0.1 mi away
Glenbank House Hotel
Glenbank House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jedburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
8.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
7.3 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
9.8 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadhon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadhon House

Property: Meadhon House
Address: 48 Castlegate, Jedburgh TD8 6BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Jedburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jedburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadhon House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our unique, 17th-century townhouse. A warm Borders welcome awaits when you stay with us. Meadhon House is a luxuriously appointed B & B, all rooms are en-suite, with flat screen televisions, free wi-fi and complimentary tea and coffee. We are centrally located in Jedburgh for restaurants and bars, and local historical attractions, many of our rooms overlook the Abbey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Meadhon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadhon Hotel Jedburgh
Meadhon House Jedburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing