We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast”
Review of Meadhon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meadhon House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jedburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best breakfast”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Great location right in the heart of Jedburgh. Easy walking to many attractions. The room was bright and airy. Our room was at the back of the house and over looked a beautiful garden.
Only negative was finding a park on the busy street.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
63
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Absolutely wonderful B&B experience on the St. Cuthbert's Path. A beautiful stone house with lovely and very spacious rooms. The hostess is extremely kind and helpful, and a wizard with eggs in the morning! Each room features coffee service, a lovely modern ensuite bathroom, flat screen tv, and free wifi. The breakfasts in the morning are fantastically lovely: a full Scottish if you so require and a host of any other combinations with fruit and cereal on the side. The hostess will also make you a delicious packed lunch if you're walking that day. A great deal at only 4 pounds for a sandwich, fruit, crisps, and water.
The price for the room is also fantastic (+/- 40 pounds), but remember that she only accepts cash or check. Come prepared!
Jedburgh is a beautiful border town in Scotland and I would stay here in a heartbeat if I ever have the chance of coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerpetualN0mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floJed, Owner at Meadhon House, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
What a wonderful review, I'm delighted that we were able to provide you with everything you needed to recover from the days walk.
hopefully you will make it back to Jedburgh one day.
Take care, Joyce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The last of our 3 nights away on the Yamaha XVS 1300 motorbike trip, heading on the homeward straight now. A very nice B&B -handy for all amenities and extremely helpful and kind owner. We can recommend a stay here and a lovely breakfast, but just remember to stipulate everything you want on your plate otherwise you don't get it.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room, facing the back garden, so it was lovely & quiet. Great facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floJed, Owner at Meadhon House, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Meadhon House. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your comment about the breakfast is intriquing, not sure what it means but I will endeavour to correct things, food for thought.
Many thanks, Joyce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed here for one night when walking St Cuthbert's Way. Joyce welcomed us after a long day's walk! Very comfortable clean room and delicious breakfast. Would definitely stay here again if visiting Jedburgh.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floJed, Owner at Meadhon House, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your excellent feedback. I'm glad that we were able to make you comfortable and if you come back to Jedburgh we will be delighted to see you.
Many thanks, Joyce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We only stayed one night, 3 adults in a family room (double and two singles) booked at the last minute via the tourist information centre. Location great, walking distance to everything, friendly owner, good breakfast (hot and cold). Very clean and room and bathroom were spacious. We had a view over the garden which was also very well maintained! Would stay here again. Score reflects the price which was more expensive than we paid for a family room - admittedly in a not so clean or modern hotel! - in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geekgirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floJed, Owner at Meadhon House, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
It was so good to hear your comments about our guest house and I am glad we were able to meet you.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Four of us were visiting Jedburgh Jail for a ghost hunt. We wanted a place to stay so I looked at reviews and found Meadhon House.
We were greeted by the owner who was so welcoming and friendly, she was fine with us come back at 2am after our 'hunt' too which was great. The location of Meadhon House is ideal, its a 2 minute walk to the castle jail!

We booked the family room which was immaculately clean, comfortable and had a lovely big en suite.

Breakfast was delicious, we had a lovely cooked breakfast and there were lots of cereals and yoghurt a to choose from.

We plan to come back to the jail and will definitely book here again. Recommended to everyone visiting Jedburgh.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fayesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floJed, Owner at Meadhon House, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
I was so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Meadhon House and that your visit to the ghost evening was a success. Look forward to meeting you all again and thank you for such positive feedback.
All the best, Joyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

After a very long day's walk, Joyce was ready to meet us at the door which was a really nice touch, Very spacious rooms with superb views and a very good breakfast with plenty of choice of fresh fruit and yoghurt as well as excellent eggs and bacon. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneMLymington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floJed, Owner at Meadhon House, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
As walkers ourselves we try to provide the welcome and accommodation that we would like. After a long walk all you want is everything to fall into place. Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay at Meadhon House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jedburgh
0.1 mi away
Glenbank House Hotel
Glenbank House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jedburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
8.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
7.3 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
9.8 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadhon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadhon House

Property: Meadhon House
Address: 48 Castlegate, Jedburgh TD8 6BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Jedburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jedburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadhon House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our unique, 17th-century townhouse. A warm Borders welcome awaits when you stay with us. Meadhon House is a luxuriously appointed B & B, all rooms are en-suite, with flat screen televisions, free wi-fi and complimentary tea and coffee. We are centrally located in Jedburgh for restaurants and bars, and local historical attractions, many of our rooms overlook the Abbey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Meadhon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadhon Hotel Jedburgh
Meadhon House Jedburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing