We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meadhon Guest House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel(St Boswells)(Great Value!)
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cross Keys Hotel(Kelso)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
196
35
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
35
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bgreat breakfastwashing powdertop floortown centrest cuthbert's waypacked lunchwarm welcometwo singlesmarmaladefriendly ownerslovely viewcentral locationwi fia lovely staywould stay here againcooked breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013

A wonderful hostess, very reasonable rates, great location & views, beautiful en suite rooms, cereal, fresh fruit & a delicious cooked breakfast available in the morning...

I stayed in room number 5 & along with a lovely view of the garden, Abbey and beyond it has the comfiest bed I`ve ever slept in!

I found Meadhon (pronounced "mawn") House purely by chance & am grateful that Joyce had a room available so late in the day. It's a beautiful 17th century property with an interesting history & the perfect base to explore Jedburgh. The Castle Jail, Abbey, Mary Queen of Scots Museum & town centre are all a 5 minute walk away (for all the savvy shoppers out there, facing the tourist information centre is a local charity shop which has something for everyone)

Joyce`s hospitality is second to none, it was late when I arrived so the Abbey etc were closed but I was able to find out a good bit about the local history and walks in the area from chatting to her which was handy when I went for a wander round the town

Room Tip: Room number 5 (top of the house but well worth it!)
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

If I could award more than five stars to Meadhon House (built in 1653) and its owner, Joyce Cameron, I would do so. My traveling companion and I stayed at Meadhon House (photo) for five nights, and could not have been better treated. Joyce gave us a large and very comfortable room with a splendid view of Jedburgh Abbey (photo). It was also the cleanest guest house room that I have ever encountered in five trips to Scotland. The breakfasts that Joyce cooked to order and served in the breakfast room (photo) were superb, and she was a wealth of information about how to get around. She was willing to do internet research for us on local attractions, call taxis—anything to help us. On our final day, she even brought our bags to the bus station for a late-departing bus so that we (men of a fairly advanced age) would not have to walk back from the town square to fetch them. Meadhon House celebrates its 360th birthday this year, and we wish it, and especially Joyce (who, by the way, is much, much younger than the house!) many more successful years.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnDallas_Texas_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Great location right in the heart of Jedburgh. Easy walking to many attractions. The room was bright and airy. Our room was at the back of the house and over looked a beautiful garden.
Only negative was finding a park on the busy street.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Absolutely wonderful B&B experience on the St. Cuthbert's Path. A beautiful stone house with lovely and very spacious rooms. The hostess is extremely kind and helpful, and a wizard with eggs in the morning! Each room features coffee service, a lovely modern ensuite bathroom, flat screen tv, and free wifi. The breakfasts in the morning are fantastically lovely: a full Scottish if you so require and a host of any other combinations with fruit and cereal on the side. The hostess will also make you a delicious packed lunch if you're walking that day. A great deal at only 4 pounds for a sandwich, fruit, crisps, and water.
The price for the room is also fantastic (+/- 40 pounds), but remember that she only accepts cash or check. Come prepared!
Jedburgh is a beautiful border town in Scotland and I would stay here in a heartbeat if I ever have the chance of coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerpetualN0mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floJed, Owner at Meadhon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

What a wonderful review, I'm delighted that we were able to provide you with everything you needed to recover from the days walk.
hopefully you will make it back to Jedburgh one day.
Take care, Joyce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The last of our 3 nights away on the Yamaha XVS 1300 motorbike trip, heading on the homeward straight now. A very nice B&B -handy for all amenities and extremely helpful and kind owner. We can recommend a stay here and a lovely breakfast, but just remember to stipulate everything you want on your plate otherwise you don't get it.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room, facing the back garden, so it was lovely & quiet. Great facilities.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floJed, Owner at Meadhon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Meadhon House. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your comment about the breakfast is intriquing, not sure what it means but I will endeavour to correct things, food for thought.
Many thanks, Joyce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews