We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Allerton House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
233
24
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
24
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastle roomqueen maryporridgest cuthbert's wayb bchris carolcomplimentary whiskywarm welcomelovely loungea lovely place to staywalking stexcellent breakfastlog firehuge bedhighest qualitybath and showergood size
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 258 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Loved this place! Had an overnight stay to break up the long drive from North East Scotland back to West Yorkshire. Stayed in the family room with our 4 year old son and couldn't have asked for better. He was in an interconnecting room with bunk beds and had his own TV in there, so he could watch CBeebies without us suffering it as well.

Breakfast was really nice too and the owners couldn't do enough for you.

Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TWhite74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our party of 4 was walking St Cuthbert's Way, finishing at Harestanes for the day. Chris willingly picked us up and drove us to Allerton House, settled us into our rooms and set about finding us somewhere to eat, no easy task as the local festival meant most places were booked up. But Chris booked us a restaurant and a taxi to get us there. Rooms spacious and very comfortable, excellent breakfast, and Chris drove us back to our starting point for the day. Best accommodation on St Cuthbert's Way.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Corvell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Five of us hiked the 68 mile Borders Abbeys Way loop - we started our trek and spent our last night at the Allerton House in Jedburgh. Chris and Carol were wonderful hosts and their B&B exceeded our expectations. The house sits on a hill just outside of town (a 10 minute walk from the bus station/info center/Abbey). There is a lovely garden and views of the surrounding area. The rooms are tastefully furnished and well-equipped, the beds are comfortable, and the area is quiet. The breakfast room/sitting area is welcoming and stocked with books, guides, CDs and DVDs. They offer a custom order breakfast with healthy options and ingredients. The house is clean and has a fresh feel about it. All in all a lovely place we had the fortune of visiting.

Room Tip: We loved the Queen Mary room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, Owner at Allerton House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you Beth for your lovely comments, we were delighted to welcome your group at both ends of your Borders Abbeys walk and pleased that we were able to meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Personal 4 star B&B in Georgian house packed with atmosphere. The friendly couple Chris and Carol are very welcoming hosts and give you a lot of worthwhile tips. The B&B is beautifully set with a big lounge for the guests (and complimentary whiskey and sherry), well appointed rooms with state of the art bathrooms. Fresh and contempory whilst retaining quintessential Brit atmosphere. Breakfast was lovely, especially appreciated the oat porridge with great honey and cream. Did not take the splash of whiskey in the morning but is said to be very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 65Antonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Really great guest house in a great situation , very clean and really comfy bed and an excellant breakfast with very high quality ingrediants so ticked all the boxes on the need to haves , being picky they could improve on the nice to haves but more later.
Would have no hesitation in fully recommending this establishment, we have stayed at more than 100 plus guest houses so feel very confident to pass judgement.
Its at the higher end price wise , and more than we would normaly pay ,but Scotland has a ready market of foriegn tourists and supply v demand means good quality places like this can charge higher prices and still maximise occupancy rates, problem we have is not short stays, its just not cost effective to stay a full week, we can get flights and a week abroad for the same it would cost to stay in a higher end guest house.
But for a short break its excellant, all the furnishings are high end and the house is fantastic, its great to get a fridge in the room , in the interests of continuous improvement our only minor observations were , a little jug of fresh milk in the fridge would be nice, a high end place like hs should not be offering them horrible little UHT pots , the coffee is Nescafe but its the dark one thats a bit bitter , perhaps consider the dearer gold blend and a bottle o mineral water costs little but means a lot , apart from that very hard to fault and nxt time we are in the borders for a night will certainly return

Room Tip: try theporridge and the haggis
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LETITROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews