We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK...for price point”
Review of English Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
English Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2011

If you are looking for luxury...this is not the hotel for you. It is a basic, 3 star which is showing its age..it is tired and has a musty odour that you would come to expect in an older building in the damp Victoria climate. Very creaky and water pipe sounds. The estate room was an adquate size, but an odd shape and had a run down look and feel to it. However, it had a good sized balcony with nice chairs that looked over the grounds. The bathroom was a little more up to date and quite adequate (lack of counter space due pedestal sink was a bit awkward). No bathrobes!!, and small things such a stiring sticks/spoons for the in-room instant coffee and tea missing -- but did have ironing board, and electric fan. Lots of umbrellas to borrow in the lobby. Overall, it was OK. The staff were very nice and accommodating. Good coffee, tea, yogurt, fruit and croissants were available to guests in the lobby in the morning as part of the room cost– which was nice. The grounds are quite beautiful and the inn is located in a quiet residential area (I think you need a car to get around, as the bus stop to downtown Victoria would be quite the hike). Parking is free and ample. Keeping the price point in mind...you cannot complain about what you get...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maldivesod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2011

We took advantage of a Living Social coupon for a 2-night stay in late March. The coupon was for one of the “Estate Rooms” with a king sized bed, Murphy bed, sitting area with flat screen TV, ensuite shower, toilet and sink, 1 bottle of complimentary champagne, a box of Roger’s Chocolates and a nice continental breakfast (good coffee, warm croissants, yogurt, apples and oranges). The room was very clean and comfortable, tastefully decorated with new bedding and towels. It was a great value.

We had to change our reservation because of illness, and we also asked to change rooms when we arrived. The staff was very kind and accommodating on both accounts. It is an Inn not a hotel, so no staff is available between 10 pm and 8 am, but an emergency number is provided.

As others have mentioned, the Inn was in receivership and has recently changed ownership. The new owners are in the process of breathing new life into the Resort. The Main Building (Manor House) is clean and comfortable. The upgrades have maintained the integrity of the Manor and you really do feel like you have gone back in time. There is a public computer and wifi is also available. There is no elevator. The Lounge is open from 4 to 10 pm, but the restaurant is closed at the present time. The grounds near the main building are very nice, with a lovely small garden. I would recommend asking for a room in this building. We were originally shown a room in the Carriage House because we had asked for 2 beds. We looked at it first and asked to be moved to the Manor House because the room in the Carriage House, although clean, with new bedding and an updated bathroom; still smelled very old and musty. I think this is because it still has the original carpet. The rooms in the Manor House all seem to have had the old carpet removed and have restored wooden floors with an area carpet. This is much fresher and nicer. There is an assortment of other buildings (The Village, Shakespeare Manor, Verona Manor, and Anne Hathaway’s Cottage with an English Knot Garden). In its heyday the estate must have been gorgeous. Those buildings are not currently used as part of the Inn’s room rental, but it’s fun to stroll the grounds and imagine what it was like as a home for Victoria’s upper crust. There is lots of onsite parking.

You should note that the Inn is located in West Vic so you really do need a car to explore Victoria easily. It’s a short drive across the Johnston Street Bridge to Victoria’s downtown and Inner Harbour where most of the tourist attractions and shopping are located. It would be a challenge to stay at the Inn without a vehicle. A good place for dinner in West Vic is Spinnaker’s Pub, about a 4-minute drive from the Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building (Manor House).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bateacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

My partner and I travel frequently, within Canada and the U.S. We stayed at the English Inn for 3 nights in early March. It was our first visit and in all honesty, we were planning a trip to Victoria and only stayed at the English Inn because we purchased an on-line deal. That said, we were so pleased with this boutique hotel we can't wait to go back! This hotel is reminiscent of an old English manor and was built in the early 1900's. The main lobby is tastefully updated, as were our accommodations (the bed & the linens were amazingly comfortable). But the original structure appears to have been maintained and the nostalgic charm remains intact. We stayed on the 2nd floor in the main house in a room overlooking the grounds. There are also additional accommodations on the grounds of this large property, throughout the gardens. The grounds are impressive, even without bloom in early March, and we can't wait to see them in the spring!
The staff at the English Inn were attentive and very personable. Each morning there were warm croissants (fresh from the oven), great coffee, as well as yogurt, apples & oranges, set up by the fireplace in the main lobby. While we left the Inn each day after a late morning start (hard to leave the cozy room and harder to bypass the croissants by the fireplace..) we really looked forward to getting back to the Inn. As a rule we really enjoy dining out. But this trip, we headed back for a glass of wine in the lounge and chatted with staff, then ordered take out to our room and really relaxed. We felt as if we made friends during our stay.
To all of the staff we met, especially Cathy and Jessica, thanks for everything and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
If you're looking for a large chain hotel experience, move on. But if you appreciate a more personal experience along with character and charm, don't overlook this unique & special place.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jj2011_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

This place is cheap, dirty, poorly staffed, and they have no idea what customer service is. If you go here, prepare to be swindled, treated poorly and ripped off. I would stay in a motel 8 before ever returning here!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvlylara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Beautiful grounds and gardens. Not too far from downtown, we do alot of walking anyway, so we enjoyed it. The neighborhood is lovely. The lobby is beautiful and we enjoyed the architecture of the mansion. Rooms were a little stuffy upstairs but opening a window we enjoyed the breeze in the evening. Its an old structure so it creaks, has thin walls, bad circulation and the dusty/musty factor. This is a resort or fancy hotel, but going in knowing that, just appreciate the charm and history. There is a modest continental breakfast that we skipped.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyNorthwesterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We upgraded our Living Social coupon for two nights to the "Crown Jewel" room. It was wonderful. Beautiful four poster canopy bed with wonderful sheets; lovely sitting area with settee plus a TV area with comfy chairs; large brick fireplace (gas). We were greeted with champagne and Rogers Chocolates. It was VERY quiet. One draw back was the kitchen wasn't open so there wasn't any breakfast, although on the weekends there are croissants and coffee available. Internet was free but router didn't reach our room.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyVancouverCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

I love visiting Victoria, but this was the first time I have stayed at the English Inn. It is a terrific property, and a lovely experience. The staff were friendly and attentive. It was good value and comfortable. Its my new "go to" place when I go to Victoria.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esquimalt
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,081 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,889 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 49 in Victoria
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 49 in Victoria
813 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,445 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Inn

Address: 429 Lampson St, Esquimalt, British Columbia V9A 5Y9, Canada (Formerly Olde England Inn)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Esquimalt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Price Range: £72 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — English Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a set of residences set on 4.5 acres of beautiful gardens, every room at the English Inn is unique. Each offers its own special character amidst the beautiful garden setting and historical architecture of the property. Three types of standard rooms are available from the quaint garden rooms to the deluxe crown suites as well as "The Crown Jewel" the luxurious heart of the English Inn and the 2 bedroom townhouse, great for large families or parties traveling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your English Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
English Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing