We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not that safisfied overall”
Review of English Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
English Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Certificate of Excellence
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“not that safisfied overall”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

we stayed here for 4 nites because it was 3 blocks from our friends house

it is a good looking property = however you must have a car as the restaurant has been closed for some time and there is no place to eat within walking distance

we had a nice room that my wife loved -- consisted of a large bathroom with an oldfashioned clawfoot tub -- a nice size bedroom and a sunroom and deck

the lounge is only open from 4pm to ???? and we never saw more then 2 people in it

breakfast consists of yogurt- coissonts- fresh fruit and coffee -- it would be a really good idea to have coffee available all day long and maybe even a cookie

my unhappiness is with housekeeping-- although they made the beds i dont think they did anything else except change the towels

i noticed a piece of plastic string on the floor of the bathroom and since it was never removed i can only surmise that they didnt sweep or wash the bathroom floor

there were crumbs on the floor in the bedroom that remained there for our entire stay-- hard to miss as the crumbs were white and the floor a dark brown

my wifes daily dishes from breakfast were never removed from the sunroom during the 4 nites we were there

also there is a lack of drawer space (in this room) that meant we couldnt unpack and we worked out of our suitcases for the entire stay

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lougee1043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    89
    33
    23
    20
See reviews for
46
160
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2011

"This hotel has a lot of potential but it is not close to any tourist destinations nor restaurants. They told us the closest restaurant was a 10 minute walk. It was really a brisk 20-minute walk. The restaurant on site seems to be open for weddings only. The gardens were nice. Our room was up three flights and the bathtub had mold on the grout.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingteacher1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This is much more a wedding venue than a hotel. Friendly, but clueless staff. Stayed in the carriage house - charming, but in disrepair; "four-poster" bed was a homemade box with boards painted white; mold in the bathroom; no screens on the windows; dining room was closed (for a year, we were told, although their brochures still advertise an elegant dining room); breakfast was a croissant and coffee - no butter, no jam, no cheese, no fruit most days. Having to go out for breakfast in this 'breakfast included" hotel significantly increasd the cost of our stay. Internet router didn't service our room, so "free internet" was on a computer on the stair landing. Would not recommend this to anyone, except for maybe a single night as you're passing through; it's not suitable for an extended stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gardenbuff701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
181 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

If you're looking for a modern new hotel close to all tourist attractions, this is not it. But, if you are looking for a beautiful and off the beaten path historical hotel, a $14 taxi ride to the other side of the bay, a view from a balcony of the water and mountains over the trees, an evening breeze, a lovely garden, and very attentive and friendly staff, this is the place for you. The rooms are older but loaded with character and some modern conveniences. We weren't sure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoughsofVermilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This was our first visit to English Inn. As other reviewers have said, it is located in a well kept residential area, so not surprisingly it was very quiet at night. The 105 year old manor house itself looks fantastic and has been well cared for over the years, as are the grounds it sits upon. The room we had was large and very bright, as the outside wall has a huge picture window that the afternoon sun streams through. (The curtains though are a heavy material, so it'd be nice to also have shears perhaps, to filter the sun without the current alternative of going very dark.) The furniture in this room is modern but comfortable. The bathroom was up to date also, but could use a shelf of some type to place your toiletries. Extra pillows and blanket were in the closet should you want those. The restaurant is not open currently, so your options for meals are limited to getting some "appies" in the lounge, or heading out to a restaurant somewhere. Staff are evident through the day and evening and very friendly and efficient. A nice bonus is you are only a 5 minute walk to the ocean, with a very large park to walk through, with great views.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CashandCarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

English Inn at Victoria is a lovely boutique hotel for weekend getaway and other events including wedding and business meetings since they do have facilities to fulfill your needs. I went there on May 13th, which was Friday, but the weather was perfect to visit Victoria. It is located about 5-10 minutes drive from downtown Victoria and situated in a quiet residential neighbourhood. Thus, you would feel like you have run away from busy urban life. When I first entered the forest-surrounded entrance pathway, I found myself was in a tunnel connecting to ancient English world. I believe that everyone would be amazed by their recently renovated manor. I was welcomed by their friendly staff members with great smile on their faces. I took a quick tour walking around their large 4-acre landscape, wedding venue, and Anne Hathaway’s cottage. I wish I could have my wedding in such elegant garden.
The room was clean and well-furnished with large bed and classic antiques. I love to travel and have been to several countries but no other hotels ever give me same impression as English Inn did. You can really get relaxed surrounding by the authentic old English style architecture and charming character. The main building was just renovated, you can definitely tell they really put their efforts and did their job to impress every customer. The lobby and lounge were very nice with a fusion of old and modern design. I spent some time sitting in the lounge area and pretty much enjoyed the atmosphere there.
I would strongly recommend English Inn to tourists whether they like modern design 5-star hotels and would like to taste classic charm or those who prefer a quite isolated place to stay. It will certainly give you a lifetime memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We arrived in Esquimalt (2 min from downtown Victoria) to find an amazing property situated in a quiet residential neighbourhood. The long drive-way was a charming entrance to a picturesque property. The gardens were tidy and Spring would soon bring amazing flowers to a variety of flowering tree and shrubs. We stayed in the Main Manor and found the room clean, comfortable and well-appointed. The staff recommended some great spots to eat and shop, thank you. We enjoyed a walk around the gardens to seek out other buildings on the property. The Inn was a peaceful world-away from our busy week and can't wait to return.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hiltonlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esquimalt
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Inn

Property: English Inn
Address: 429 Lampson St, Esquimalt, British Columbia V9A 5Y9, Canada (Formerly Olde England Inn)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Esquimalt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — English Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a set of residences set on 4.5 acres of beautiful gardens, every room at the English Inn is unique. Each offers its own special character amidst the beautiful garden setting and historical architecture of the property. Three types of standard rooms are available from the quaint garden rooms to the deluxe crown suites as well as "The Crown Jewel" the luxurious heart of the English Inn and the 2 bedroom townhouse, great for large families or parties traveling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your English Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
English Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing