We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very different but enjoyable experience”
Review of English Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
English Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Certificate of Excellence
South east, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very different but enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We were a party of four adults and we all really enjoyed our recent stay at the English Inn. We were given adjoining very large rooms with a private balcony, without asking which was a nice touch. After checking in though somehow our keys got mixed up and we found that our key opened both rooms. When we told reception they said that we had been given the wrong key and they changed it for us, it must have been a staff key we were given in error.
This hotel is very "old world" but it has all the modern needs of today. The rooms we stayed in were very spacious and they had a refrigerator, chaise long, coffee table, hairdryer, Iron & ironing board and the bed was large and very comfortable. The bathroom was quite small however and an unusual shape. Our friends bathroom was even smaller and the male party had to nearly bend double to get in and out of the shower under the eves. The doors onto the balcony were only held closed by a latch and hook so if you did not know the people in the next room that could be a concern.

The dining room was closed while we were there (it only opens for private functions we were told) so we had to go out for dinner. The complimentary breakfast of croissant, yogurt, fruit, tea & coffee was very welcome.
As the hotel is in a residential area and is quite a distance from downtown, having a car would be an advantage. Whereby the lobby and lounge areas were all beautiful the hotel did have an unkempt feel in other areas especially in the surrounding gardens and walkways.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and found the hotel very warm and comfortable and would go back. There was wi fi availabe free of charge but we found the service very patchy in places so was not much use to us.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhona123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    89
    33
    23
    20
See reviews for
48
161
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mims, Florida
Level Contributor
211 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This hotel is beautiful, the fact that it is in a residential neighborhood didn't make any difference to us. The grounds are lush and well maintained. It is about a five minute drive into town, it would be a very long walk. The staff was very accomodating, helping with reservations, etc. The insulation between floors is sparce however and with the hardwood floors it is possible to hear the people above you very well, including any children who might want to run and jump from 9-11PM. However a call the the front desk at 11 did end the issue. Our room had a beautiful deck off of it and I still feel I am really underselling just how beautiful this property is.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This hotel is outside of Victoria's downtown core, a 10' drive but in a quiet neighbourhood. Huge rooms, vast grounds once belonging to gentry by the look of it. Many outdoor spaces for picnics or quiet reading. Very helpful staff. Georgian style mansion with appropriately appointed furnishings. Includes croissant and coffee.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfergirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, SK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We loved this place! We felt like we were staying in jolly old England in a quaint B&B. Our room was very spacious with an extra double bed. The building we stayed in was called the Carriage House. They supplied a continental breakfast of fresh, warm croissants, yogurt, fruit and coffee. The landscape was beautiful! Even though this Inn is on a residential street, it is well disguised by the trees and greenery. Driving to the main harbour was a 5 min drive. We were told it takes 45mins to walk there. Staff was very friendly and very helpful. Nice quiet refuge from the hustle and bustle of busy downtown. The only complaint was a bit of musty smell in the stairway and room which could be remedied by placing some of the fresh lavender that they grow there in those areas, however, it did not affect our stay whatsoever. We will definitely stay here again when we come back to Victoria. Extremely reasonable when we booked on Orbitz for this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renziep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2011

In a nut shell we were happy with our stay there and would have loved to spend more time there. We were very impressed with the property, location, beautiful tranquil setting and kindness of the staff.
Our Room #21 was quaint, cozy and welcoming and what I most enjoyed is that I could see the beautiful magnificent garden from the room while staying.

If I have some more chances to be back to Victoria without any doubt I will stay again in English Inn and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Victoria, BC.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joon16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Here's the deal- The English Inn is not in Downtown... its in a suburb of sorts called Esquimalt. It's 5 minutes by car, 20-30 by bus, and about 45 walking. The taxi to downtown will cost you about $10 and the bus is $5 round trip.

There are NO places to eat near the hotel. Each is about 6 blocks away and none of them are all that exciting- one is a McDonalds. The hotel's dining room has been closed except for private events and the lounge was open each night... but only serves beverages. The complimentary breakfast is croissants, yogurt, fruit and coffee/tea. And ends by about 10. Meh.

The rooms themselves are pretty spacious. But each just needed a little bit more. Because of a weird snafu we saw about 3 rooms over the course of our stay. Each time the bathrooms just... they weren't dirty or anything... but I just really really expected more. Especially for the rates! The entire place is really just in need of some repair and love and such. The main manor and lobby area is gorgeous and what I would expect but the rooms... sort of meh. In one room the window was severely broken and still had residue from the duct tape they tried to use to repair it- turns out the window wasn't even glass, it was plexi.

The bed in our first room was amazing. The sheets were great and the bed was incredibly comfortable. It was quiet and peaceful the entire stay. Even though we did have people staying above us.

In our second room however, the bed squeaked each time one of us moved... or even tossed a pillow on the bed. It was ridiculous. And each time our upstairs neighbors turned on a faucet or ran the shower the sound of rushing water was nearly overwhelming. You could hear it every where in the room.

The staff was good. They went above and beyond in many instances to make our stay pleasant. Chris was fantastic and Justine was the sweetest person ever.

As far as the grounds go... I thought many times that it seems like they didn't employ gardeners. The gardens were lovely... but seemed sort of shaggy. There seemed to be weeds everywhere. There was even an artichoke randomly growing in one of the gardens!

The internet is only good in the main manor house and SOMETIMES other places on the grounds. But not really.

Overall there was nothing BAD but I was expecting more and I left overall disappointed. I really don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LolaRueRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendleton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This hotel was very quaint and the staff was very friendly and helpful. You are a little ways from downtown for walking but a short drive will get you there. If you want a peaceful place to stay this is your hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndi_Lauper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esquimalt
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,634 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,525 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Inn

Property: English Inn
Address: 429 Lampson St, Esquimalt, British Columbia V9A 5Y9, Canada (Formerly Olde England Inn)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Esquimalt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — English Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a set of residences set on 4.5 acres of beautiful gardens, every room at the English Inn is unique. Each offers its own special character amidst the beautiful garden setting and historical architecture of the property. Three types of standard rooms are available from the quaint garden rooms to the deluxe crown suites as well as "The Crown Jewel" the luxurious heart of the English Inn and the 2 bedroom townhouse, great for large families or parties traveling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your English Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
English Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing