We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly an interesting & individual place to stay!”
Review of English Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
English Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in an estate room which was lovely; nicely laid out, beautifully furnished with the biggest & most gorgeous bed & cleaned very well every day. The hotel itself is lovely, albeit definitely showing wear & tear. There is a feeling of neglect to the grounds & surrounding buildings which is a shame. Breakfast was croissant, coffee, fruit & yoghurt & not really what I like when on holiday. It felt they were rather short staffed with people doubling up on roles but everyone was really friendly & very helpful. If staying in an estate room be warned that there are many stairs to get up to them including a rather steep & narrow one.
We enjoyed our stay here as we were looking for a romantic getaway & we didn't want to stay somewhere that was ordinary & this was definitely not that!
I would suggest that they could perhaps look at getting rid of some of the rugs which had stains on them & rather let down the room, also if running an 'English' inn, the emphasis really should be on providing a decent cup of tea!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeannineBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

photos looked appealing and I made reservations online. due to unforeseeable health issues I sent an email to same address that I made the reservation, 11 days prior to reserved dates (long before the 48b hour notice). alas, they have no record of that and my presentation of that email made no difference -"its their policy". so, they got us for nearly $2oo.oo, but lost out on our future business. hindsight I should have asked for confirmation, this is the only hotel that I had difficulties canceling our reservations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank oh-happy-rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The grounds of this inn were just amazing, I could have wandered around there forever! The inn itself was very charming, there is character everywhere. Our room was fairly big, had room for a sitting area and fridge. The bathroom was very small and the sliding door didn't leave much for privacy. We also had a sky light above our bed, which was not enjoyable when you are woken up early by the sun shining on your face. I had read the reviews about the keys working for more than one room, which made me nervous, must have been in another building, as we tried our key in a room we knew was empty and it didn't work on that door.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandywey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We recently had our elopement at the English Inn. It was absolutely fantastic and would do business again with them in a heartbeat. Jennifer, the event planner, was flexible, quick to respond, hospitable and took care of all of our arrangements. The venue is absolutely beautiful and the rooms are lovely. All of the staff took wonderful care of us. We will be back in the future for anniversaries and other celebrations!

Room Tip: Room 7 had a beautiful balcony. Room 8 had a fireplace which was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We spent the first four nights of a months holiday at the English Inn and enjoyed it so much we went back for the last two nights of our trip. The hotel was a pleasant surprise, very quiet and quaint. We enjoyed wandering the gardens with our Grandchildren and guests. Our room was spacious, perfect for us with a Murphy bed the kids thought was the coolest thing when they stayed overnight. We will go back again next time we go to the island.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

On the outside this is a beautiful and quaint little hotel, with old world charm. A place that you can imagine a romantic evening spent by the fire. Unfortunately the reality is, the rooms are run down and unkept, the staff is over worked and under qualified. The Inn has terrible customer service, our room was not cleaned in three days, we were short on towels even though we were paying a premium price. There are many nice places to stay in Victoria for the same price point, I would avoid this one in the future.

Room Tip: website photos are very misleading, check out your room before you commit to ensure you are getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustinP1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I recently stayed at the English Inn for 5 nights in preparation for my best friends wedding. Although the venue itself is unique and beautiful it is evident that their is a lack of care for the property and apparently the guests as well. I switched rooms once during my stay (to be in a larger room with my boyfriend) and the room was not cleaned upon our stay. There were no new towels and the sheets were unchanged. Thankfully I knew the person who had been in the room previously so it was a little less bothersome, but still took away from our stay.

Upon booking the venue, the bride (and myself) were given discounted room rates as the entire venue was booked for the day prior and the day of her wedding. When I checked out I was told my room would cost over $300, double what I was originally quoted. In shock, i went to find the bride and groom to see if they could offer assistance. The staff at the English Inn had no idea that any rates had previously been set and could not get ahold of a manager as she was out of town. This was not the first time we had trouble with the staff as there were several occasions leading up to, on the day of and after the wedding where the bride spent precious moments searching for emails to communicate with staff what had previously been agreed upon.

Although this venue is a real-life fairytale, it is extremely poorly managed, unorganized and understaffed. Disappointing,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esquimalt
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,065 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,294 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,120 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 49 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Inn

Address: 429 Lampson St, Esquimalt, British Columbia V9A 5Y9, Canada (Formerly Olde England Inn)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Esquimalt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Price Range: £87 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — English Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a set of residences set on 4.5 acres of beautiful gardens, every room at the English Inn is unique. Each offers its own special character amidst the beautiful garden setting and historical architecture of the property. Three types of standard rooms are available from the quaint garden rooms to the deluxe crown suites as well as "The Crown Jewel" the luxurious heart of the English Inn and the 2 bedroom townhouse, great for large families or parties traveling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your English Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
English Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing