We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MANAGEMENT NOT ACCOMEDATING AND RUDE FRONT DESK” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of English Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
English Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“MANAGEMENT NOT ACCOMEDATING AND RUDE FRONT DESK”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

Your management and front desk clerks need help, as a paying client of your hotel I felt that you have let me down tremendously. They were rude, they did not help in any way or form and poor internet connection, horrible contentantial breakfeast. I will never chose to stay with this hotel again and I will for surley be passing this on to all of my colleagues. I have been worned by some other colleagues from another company that this would happen but I thought I would try on my on because the proportey is so beatuiful and the grounds alone are worth seeing. But this time I was dissapointed with the grounds and the management has gone down hill this summer. I will not be returning to your establishment and hope that in the future you will do something with management and reserect the property as it was last summer.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PROFESSTIONAL-TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    88
    33
    23
    20
See reviews for
45
160
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Montana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Granted, the day was gray and drippy so the big stone mansion looked like a haunted house and the extensive gardens could not be entirely appreciated. But the gardens were not well kept up. Everything looked over grown. There were lots of weeds wher they shouldn't be as well as bits of trash in the drooping flowers. Our room, although upgraded to a suite was so dark we had to sit under a tiny lamp to look at our map. Also, we had a visitor in our bathroom in the morning: the biggest spider i've ever seen that was not a terantula!
Finally, we went to the continental breakfast expecting that it was included in the price of the room (it was not) where we found large, soggy muffins (three), fruit-loops style cereal and cold coffee. The dining room was very nice but had been shut down for dinner a few weeks prior to our visit. All in all, a big disappointment after reading the reviews.
One bright spot, however, was that we stumbled upon a great family-owned fish'n'chips restaurant in a neighborhood not far from the hotel called Haultain Fish and Chips. It was delicious and the service was delightful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

I travel to Victoria several times per year on business generally for a 2 or 3 night stay. A customer recommended the English Inn and I couldn’t have been more pleased. It was very clean, well appointed and the staff was very attentive. The property is incredible.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rumbling_along
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

Great spot - just a little off the beaten path. Nice setting, comfortable accommodation. Offering a litttle historic charm, rather than the typical concrete and glass facade common to today lodgings. Close to activities and restaurants of interest to me.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the English Inn last weekend and we had a great, great time. Perfect proximity to downtown and the hotels rooms were so nice that we couldn't wait to get back and relax. Highly recommended hotel, one which we will be returning to.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCsTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

We had a family w/e stay at the English Inn. It exceeded our expectations. The initial walk down the narrow corridor was misleading as the room was very spacious and easily accommodated 2 adults and 2 children (8 and 11yo). It was very clean and had a great view. The hotel and grounds were impressive and we enjoyed a fun picnic lunch on the grounds one day. The front desk staff were happy to answer our questions about the hotel and surroundings and made our stay as pleasant as possible. It was a quick drive into the tourist zone and it was nice to stay somewhere where the crowds thin out. We plan to stay at the English Inn on future trips to Victoria.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smilingbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

First impressions, the old estate is tucked away in a residential area, so you wouldn't even know it was there if you weren't looking for it. It felt like we had taken a step back in time. If you enjoy old wood and stone houses with modern touches, you will most certainly enjoy the workings of this inn.
Reception, checking in was easy we arrived at 5 p.m. got our key and went straight to our
room. Although I had sent an e-mail to them regaurding a request for a fireplace or a four poster bed like what was shown on their website, that they did not recieve. Checking out was a little rushed. We had asked the night before for a later check-out and the night receptionist said we could stay until 12. The next morning we got back from having breakfast at 10:30 when we were approached by the day time receptionist who politley told us that they had a bride going into our room and would like us out as soon as possible. This made me feel more as an inconvience then a guest. I complained about the receptionists mannerisms and got an e-mail appolagy from the receptionist that day.
The room, was fairly clean (although the shower curtain had mold at the bottom) and very large. I was disappointed that there was no fireplace or four post bed in the room. The room did have an early 19th century feel to it like the rest of the house but with modern upgrades such as faucets, a microwave and fridge. The sun room was delightful and the bed was heavenly. They accually use real sheets!
Breakfast was a disappointment. It was a continental breakfast. We had checked the menu the night before to make sure they had a dairy substitute, such as soy. On the menu they did however at breakfast they did not. Granted we came down at 9:30 for breakfast and it was done at 10:00 but they had run out of granola, soy milk, banana's and yogurt. We went out for breakfast.
The gardens were spectacular, it would be a great place for a wedding or event.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copper42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esquimalt
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,427 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Inn

Property: English Inn
Address: 429 Lampson St., Esquimalt, British Columbia V9A 5Y9, Canada (Formerly Olde England Inn)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Esquimalt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — English Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a set of residences set on 4.5 acres of beautiful gardens, every room at the English Inn is unique. Each offers its own special character amidst the beautiful garden setting and historical architecture of the property. Three types of standard rooms are available from the quaint garden rooms to the deluxe crown suites as well as "The Crown Jewel" the luxurious heart of the English Inn and the 2 bedroom townhouse, great for large families or parties traveling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your English Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
English Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing