We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Web-site info is not what you get!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Reviewed 15 September 2012

What hot continental breakfast" -- possibly when you toast your slice of bread or add hot water to a package of oatmeal. OK the coffee and tea are hot.
Our room was touted as having a "beautiful gorge view" --- well if you looked over the stucco railing on the second floor rooms you could see the far side of the water pond behind the cottages across the street. Hardly as advertised!
This is a motel that doesn't deserve the category it has with Choice Hotel chain. It is badly in need of updating all around. If not, then it needs to be downgraded to a lower level in the chain.
We won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Not a restaurant on site. No fitness centre either
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Calgarian1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

Rooms 230-242 (we had 240) face the 5 deluxe cabins that face the Gorge Waterway. This might sound bad but you get a decent view for a much cheaper price. Our room had a kitchenette that was adequately stocked with supplies (which was a surprise to us). The wife wasn't thrilled with the "hot continental breakfast" expecting things like sausage and scrambled eggs, and a waffle machine like we have had at other Choice-group hotels in Oregon. Room was clean, was missing the weatherstripping at the bottom of the door, which I didn't notice until the first morning when the sun was shining. Overall not bad. Beds are okay, but a bit too firm for our liking.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestCoastAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This was a good value. The staff was helpful and nice, the room was clean (though old), and parking was free (and easy to find). The hotel is just off the main highway, so it was conveniently located. Compared to the other hotels in the Inner Harbor area, the price was right. The continental breakfast was pretty good, though they didn't have oatmeal (which I like to have). A good value!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank garbagecollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We had adjoining rooms(4 kids). The carpet was flithy, I wouldnt walk on it in bare feet. There was mold on the shower curtains, the soft was flithy, you could see the wires hanging from the lights in the bathroom, 2 of my children broke out in a rash, house keeping didnt stock none of our supplies, burns in the curtains, spiders and bugs crawling on the ceilings, floors and in the bath tub, half the time the key cards wouldnt work. Smelled like cigarette smoke. I wouldnt recommend this place to anyone. The only plus side was the location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank kathypoole30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We checked in to Room 238, and proceeded to relax, my wife on the bed, myself on the couch. Within a few minutes my wife noticed little black dots hopping around on the white sheets. The bed was infested with fleas! I guess they were in the carpet too, as my lower legs now have flea bites all over them.

The lady at the reception desk offered me a new room, either Room 138 immediately below #238 or a suite in the other building (no air conditioning). We moved to 138, but found fleas there too!
We moved to Room 145 in the other building, and it was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Our room look absolutely nothing like the nice pictures on the website. I should have taken some photos to share. The carpet in our room was FILTHY and completely worn out. I wouldn't even walk on it in my bare feet. The shower curtain was dirty, too. Our room had no refrigerator or microwave as most of the Comfort Inns tend to have. I don't recommend anyone stay here unless ou can see your room, first. However, the clerks at the front desk were very friendly and helpful when we asked for direction and questions about the area! The area was also quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BallroomMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed in room 231. While this is an old property,probably from the 60's our room had been renovated, I'm guessing within the past 2 years. The bathroom was ,tub sink etc was very clean. The towels were very good. The room was fairly large with 2 comfortable queen beds, with clean and comfortable bedding. A new flat screen TV is required, it was the old CRT TV with relatively poor reception.The continental breakfast included was adequate. The food was fresh. The hotel is about 15 minutes from the inner harbour but it is in a lovely location in View Royal on the gorge. We would stay there again. Only mildly disconcerting was about 40 juveniles were staying there. The 50 year old juveniles with their motorcycles they were washing ,taking up unnecessary parking spaces but this is not the hotels fault

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronash275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esquimalt
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 49 in Victoria
812 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 49 in Victoria
959 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 49 in Victoria
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 49 in Victoria
304 reviews
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Address: 101 Island Hwy, Esquimalt, British Columbia V9B 1E8, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Esquimalt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Price Range: £44 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel plus 5-duplex cabins facing the Gorge Waterway - Waterfront location on Gorge Waterway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Victoria
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Victoria
Victoria Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing