We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice if you are on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent choice if you are on a budget”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We wanted to spend a weekend in Victoria, BC and found out that many hotels in Victoria would charge additional fees for every kid-we have 3! We found this hotel-now Econo Lodge and it was an excellent choice. The front desk staff was very attentive and the maids were always responding to my many requests-extra towels, baby crib, extra ice buckets. The room did not have a microwave or fridge and they don't add it to the room even if you are willing to pay extra. They do however, allow you to store your food in their fridge at the front desk. The grounds are very well kept and the pool deck has a very nice view. The room and bathroom are not modern: old box TV, very small bathroom sink counter, but the room was large enough for us 5. It is an easy 5-7 minute drive downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marivix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    58
    29
    16
    11
See reviews for
58
45
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Older property but clean and quiet, even on the street side. The water side was beautiful. Our room had coffee but no fridge or microwave. Buffet breakfast had cereal/muffins/waffles/toast/hard boiled eggs, juices, apples & oranges and coffee. Room was comfortable, nice beds and pillows. Easy drive to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We came here after an unfortunate experience with Super 8 victoria Airport and we were greeted by welcoming staff. The room has a kitchenette and accommodates a party of 5, i thought its priced lower than its worth per night. The pool was great, kids had so much fun. Breakfast was nice, the muffins were awesome. Guest can also have coffee, tea and water service 24/7 that makes this place perfect for us.

Room Tip: Rewash kitchen utensils before use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bmgt00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

There were no negatives here. Excellent check-in, upgrade to a suite without hassle. One of the best breakfasts going. Their coffee was SO good, I asked to see the brand - Java. Three restful, quiet nights.

Did have a glitch with my laptop - it wouldn't automatically connect. I had to phone for their IT support. Eventually we got that sorted out.

Room Tip: If you have a Choice Privileges card with lots of points, ask for a free upgrade when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Yes as everyone states it is an older property, and you notice the older smell in the upper hallways where our room was. It was easy to get to and very reasonable for Victoria. We were close to the Gardens and Butterfly conservatory, and not far from downtown. Breakfast was included for the price, we liked that we had a kitchen as we always bring drinks and snacks and when you are travelling its hard to carry a cooler. If you need a place to lay your head and sightsee as we did this is an inexpensive place to do it.

Room Tip: our room was on the roadway side but we couldn't hear any traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likequietness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Formerly "Comfort Inn & Suites," this property has been reclassified to "Econo Lodge and Suites" - and that fits perfectly with what travellers expect in that classification.

Check in was quick and efficient - as was check out.

Although this is an older property, nonetheless it has been generally well maintained. Our kitchenette was clean and well equipped. Exterior entrance direct to our ground floor room as a bonus as we had heavy luggage.

Breakfast was continental style. The room as supervised with staff quickly and efficiently refilling items as required. The breakfast room itself is quite large, with a pleasant atmosphere.

The motel itself is located several kilometers west of downtown Victoria. However, if you are looking for a location along a quiet waterway, close to extensive walkways, this location has that to offer.

Restaurants are close by (to the south) in a plaza. However, due to heavy traffic at the intersection, one needs to be careful - especially if walking with younger children.

For the Rate charged, our overal experience was very good. We would definitely recommend this location - and will be staying there again on our next trip.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the "gorge waterway" are generally quiet. Ground floor has parking directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

It is really not fair to criticize a hotel that is priced so low, but I have to be honest. When we checked into our room, the smell of pepperoni and onions was so overpowering my eyes were watering. We called the front desk, and they sent someone over who said it was cooking smells from the room behind us. They couldn't change our room because there were no more available. It was a busy weekend in Victoria, so we didn't look for another hotel. Overall the room was very basic and quite dark. We had to keep our drapes closed because there were lots of people walking by. There seems to be some permanent residents at this hotel, who hang around the common areas and like to socialize with the guests. This is not necessarily a bad thing, but can be annoying when on a schedule. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teadro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Esquimalt hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esquimalt
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#27 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#46 of 52 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Address: 101 Island Hwy, Esquimalt, British Columbia V9B 1E8, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Esquimalt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel plus 5-duplex cabins facing the Gorge Waterway - Waterfront location on Gorge Waterway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Victoria
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Victoria
Victoria Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing