We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Orillia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

on a recent in April my wife took ill and was staying at the Victoria General hospital

the hospital recommend a few places to stay

Econo lodge is on the direct bus route to the hosp.

the hotel offered a special rate to persons with family in the hosp

to drive by car to the hosp was about 10 minutes lots of restaurants and shopping within walking distance

a wonderful walking trail just across the new bridge which follows the estuary for miles

staff was great as was the included breakfast

if possible rent a cottage which faces the estuary and watch the wild life and boaters

Room Tip: rent a cabin on the water book well ahead the place is busy on week ends
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beameup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    58
    30
    16
    11
See reviews for
59
47
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We found this lodge in an excellent location to all major highways and roads when traveling into Victoria or Esquimalt. The check-in was fast however on checking in we were not told that our ONE coupon for breakfast was for both days and also our room keys did not work. Thus we had to go back to the main desk twice. This seemed to have been a problem as we were not the only ones returning to the main desk. The rooms were clean but need upgrading. Still have very old Televisions and an empty space in the room where we think a chair could have been. The carpets were soiled and the bathroom floor very worn. There was a kitchenette with a stove but no microwave. The pool looked nice and the view of the Gorge was beautiful. We backed onto the road however with the window closed we could not hear any traffic. The shower was great - lots of hot water. Econo took this hotel over from Comfort Inn. They were re-doing the stairs so perhaps are in the early stages of remodeling. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was lots of parking. Great for the location and price.


The breakfast was minimal. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. This was a Comfort Inn and it looks like Econo are starting repairs as the stairs were being rebuilt while we were there. It

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKP71, Director of Sales at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,


Director of Sales & Marketing
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
2503887861
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Overall, I would rate this location as very good. I initially booked a two-queen room (even though I was travelling alone) as it was the only non-smoking room available (they had one king room; however, they were all smoking rooms). The room was $107 canadian. When I arrived, I learned I had been "upgraded" to the queen suite (normally priced at $130 canadian), which was OK with me (was charged the two-queen room price). The suite is about as large as a small apartment. What I learned, though, is the suites do not have air conditioning. Fortunately, Victoria was not experiencing a heat-wave. It looks like they have 16 suites. The suites are off the highway, so are a little quieter. Suites on the south and north east side offer views of the Gorge waterway out the bedroom window. The room was clean and comfortable. I did notice the bathroom did have a bit of dirty grout and the tub had a red stained spot on it (had been there a while). I even did the under-bowl toilet swipe (as seen on Hotel Impossible) and it came out clean (shows attention to detail). The base of the mattress at the headboard did reveal small hairs (not mine). I did notice two "dark spots" on the springs just below the headboard which turned out to be pieces of fuzz (scared me for a minute as they looked like large bug carcasses) The kitchen has a full-size refrigerator, a nice assortment of pots, pans, dishes, silverware, etc. The room does NOT have a microwave, but it does have a regular oven and I located a toaster in one of the cabinets. When I discovered the room had no A/C, I was wishing I had brought a fan. Well, in the back closet (in the bedroom), the hotel had provided me two small fans, which worked well. Oh, there is also a sizable walk-in closet just of the bathroom area.

The breakfast was good. It was most crowded between 9a and 9:30a. I would classify this as a larger continental breakfast (breads, muffins, fruit, cereal, coffee, tea, orange & apple juice. They had waffles that you could run through the toaster (not the same as made in the waffle makers that some hotels have).

As the hotel sits on the corner of two streets, you can enter and exit from either of two driveways. As stated, this hotel was a Comfort Inn a couple of years ago. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful when asking for directions to a good fish & chips place (I highly recommend Barb's which is down in the Fisherman's Wharf part of Victoria).

The hotel mentions a pool, although I never located it nor was it mentioned at check-in. Would have been nice to know if there actually was one.

I rated the sleep quality as average as the room can get a bit stuffy at night due to not having A/C (not recommended to leave windows open unless you're in the room and awake.

The location is approx 15 minutes to the northwest of downtown and is close to Hatley Castle and the Fort Rodd Hill Park and Fisgard Lighthouse. You are about 30 minutes south of Butchart Gardens and the Victoria Butterfly Gardens.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The Suites do NOT have A/C. All other rooms do. Get a room/suite off the street if you want it qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dialupdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKP71, Director of Sales at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Director of Sales & Marketing
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
2503887861
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cawston, Bc
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This reasonably priced hotel was a great choice for us attending a wedding. We were able to book and pay online which we find very convenient. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is older but our room was very clean and offered the advertised amenities. We had our little Yorkie with us and we felt the addition $15. per night a little high but I understand that other pet owners may not be as conscientious. The breakfast was okay with a limited variety of items but what we had was fresh. We would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karona51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRANDON
Level Contributor
163 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It is reasonably close to the airport. Be sure to use your smart phone to get to it. There are several different ways to get to the hotel.

The kitchenette was nice. I could tell that the hotel is older. However, with the inclusion of the breakfast, it is good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D'Arcy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location near Victoria, just off Trans Canada Highway 1 and on Admirals road. It is about 15 minutes from the Port Angeles Ferry. and along the "Gorge" so there is somewhat of a lakefront view if you have the right room.

The room was okay (carpeting shows wear and even though the room is non-smoking, there is still that smoke odor). It has nice kitchen area with fridge, microwave and sink.

There is a free continental breakfast that is very good with waffles, muffins, hot and cold cereal, coffee, milk, juices. you can sit inside to eat or enjoy the patio area with a view of the lake (reservoir).

For being in town and on a major intersection, it was quiet and the price was okay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

this hotel was great as it had a kitchenette so you could stay for more days - had a swimming pool nice rooms living room and a bedroom and a really big walk in closet breakfast every morning was good a variety would recommend to anyone - nice view of the water!

Room Tip: pick a room so that you can park your car outside the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seniortraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esquimalt
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#46 of 52 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Address: 101 Island Hwy, Esquimalt, British Columbia V9B 1E8, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Esquimalt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel plus 5-duplex cabins facing the Gorge Waterway - Waterfront location on Gorge Waterway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Victoria
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Victoria
Victoria Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing