We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chirnside, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Denise F
Beverley
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This property has a low sloping ceiling in the bedroom and steep, narrow stairs.There were 'Mind Your Head' stickers everywhere! We were not warned of this when we booked. The bathroom is tiny and there is no storage space for clothes at all, except for a cupboard in the living room. All the crockery and cutlery and furnishings are old, mismatched and rather shabby. There was no welcome pack of milk, teabags etc, and not even a new j-cloth or toilet roll. We left early and informed the agents, Sykes Cottages, but were told it is up to the owners and so they (Sykes Cottages) can do nothing to make sure standards are maintained. We won't be using this holiday firm again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The countryside and coast nearby
Liked least: The cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Reviewed 30 May 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh
Reviewed 10 January 2012 for a stay in November 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mootman
Herault, France
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Christmas Getaway”
Reviewed 29 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011

We stayed at the cottage during Christmas week. I didn't realise we weren't allowed to park in the owners garden which was a bit off-putting. There are car parks close by and on-street parking too if spaces are available. The owner allowed us to unload the car in front of the cottage which was very good of him, but unfortunately upon departure we had to walk to the street. This wasn't a problem perhaps I'd misread the cottage information.
The cottage is nicely furnished, certainly warm and ok comfortwise. A slight downside is the bedroom which has limited headroom, no chest of drawers (anywhere) for smaller items and no spare / extra pillows.
The kichen area was comfortable and cosy, but I would expect a retreat for two to have a Cafetiere for two rather than one. I suggest a review of the cottage inventory take place.
We only saw the owners once, who have an office next door, and respected our privacy. WiFi is available in the sitting room which is next to this office, but not the rest of the property
The cottage is located in great part of the borders with many sights close by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Small issues with inventory, which is disappointing during 15 years of cottage holidays
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Reviewed 10 December 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Abridge
Reviewed 23 September 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Central location to all we wanted to see and do.
Liked least: The low height of the bedroom ceiling
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Doncaster
Reviewed 10 February 2011 for a stay in December 2010

Value Location
Cleanliness Check-in / front desk
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;