We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chirnside Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We only found this hotel and restaurant by chance as we were travelling back south from Scotland. Our room is delightful, with a four poster bed and an extremely stylish but very usable bathroom. The view is beautiful and we have evrything we need, including free wifi. But dinner was amazing - if only we were staying longer. Completely worthy of a Michelin Star - surely it must get one soon. Local, fresh ingredients, well chosen and perfectly cooked and presented. Immaculate service. Why is there nothing like this where I live?

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jb1255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Chirnside Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

We have been to Tessa & Chris's Hotel every year for 10 years or so and we just love it. From the warm welcome, to the log fires in the lounge & dining room, to the lovely spacious rooms and last but certainly not least the fantastic leisurely eaten 5 star food we thoroughly enjoy it all. We are both in our 60's and have been to some really nice Hotels but this easily tops them. We will be back

Room Tip: Just talk to Tessa when booking, but we have been in most rooms and all are equally nice
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is one of the nicest places to stay, and we have done a few! Log fires, wonderful food, special attention from the lovely hosts, I cannot say a bad thing. We will certainly return to be spoiled again.

Room Tip: We asked for no 4 poster and had a lovely big room on the second floor. The first floor has th e4 po...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobsheDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A perfect example of a small country house hotel, located in the heart of the Scottish Border countryside. Elegant early 19th century interior, tasteful fireplaces, log fires in public rooms, beautiful cornices on the ceilings. Views for miles across open countryside to the Cheviot Hills. Run by a Dutch couple since 2000, she is a very friendly and approachable front of house, and he handles country pursuits on behalf of the guests. Most excellent meals in the tastefully modern dining room, from piping Scottish breakfast to a haute cuisine 4 course dinner. Absolutely everything home made and drawing on local produce. Bedrooms in traditional style, but with very smart modern bathrooms. Will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Lovely views over open countryside to the South.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iainlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We first stayed at Chirnside in 2010 and this was our third visit. Whenever we travel to Scotland to see family in Duns Chirnside Hall is always our first choice. The downside is that there is not always accommodation available as the Hall is so popular. And no wonder. Tessa and Kristian, the owners, offer such a friendly and relaxing stay. Their knowledge of the area and its wildlife is phenomenal. Tessa and Kristian work extremely hard to make their guests feel at home and nothing is too much trouble.

Abandon the diet if you are going to stay at Chirnside. It is futile to try to resist the excellent food. The dinner menu is changed daily and always offers a taste experience second to none. Breakfast also resembles a banquet - the full Scottish breakfast is to be recommended and is always perfectly coooked to order.

We have only ever stayed in Room 1 - spacious, comfy, relaxing and with a breathtaking view across the fields to the Cheviot Hills beyond.

Chirside Hall has a quiet, romantic quality that is hard to define, but also has that "home from home" feel about it. It really does fit that old cliche "arrive as strangers - leave as friends".

Room Tip: Go with the flow
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reddragonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

My wife and I have stayed at Chirnside Hall on five occasions and we have always been very satisfied. The Hotel is Owner run and managed and the service from Tessa is exceptional. Such class and refinement in the food and service. The rooms are spacious and clean. Nice large open fires in the Lounges are a delight in winter.
Ideal for a romantic break. The building is very interesting and the entrance hall with large staircase is most inviting. Go on try it you wont be disappointed

Room Tip: Best phone up and speak to Tessa the owner
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank globaldaveskipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chirnside
5.9 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
482 reviews
8.6 mi away
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hot...
#1 of 2 in Cornhill-on-Tweed
346 reviews
20.2 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
423 reviews
6.8 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
307 reviews
17.2 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chirnside Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chirnside Hall Hotel

Address: Nr Duns | Berwickshire, Chirnside TD11 3LD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Chirnside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside
Price Range: £171 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chirnside Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chirnside Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chirnside Hall Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing