We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, fabulous welcome and great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chirnside Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside
Reviewed 27 August 2013

OK here's the thing - you shouldn't eat for a week before you come here! The food is really good - we had an excellent dinner and an amazing breakfast. This is a really lovely hotel set in the beautiful countryside of the Scottish borders. It truly is a country hall hotel complete with stags heads, impressive portraits and piles of shooting magazines. You get such a warm welcome from the owner (we only met Tessa) that it feels like you are a family friend. We'd had a long journey and it was so nice to be welcomed with a glass of wine in the magnificent but cosy sitting room. Our bedroom was very comfortable with wonderful views of the countryside. I'd warmly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room right on the top floor - there is a lift for the bags but there are a lot of stairs so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartiniJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed for one night on the way to The Open at Muirfield. Lovely hotel in a good location, not far from A1. We had a top floor room which was nice and clean with a lovely modern bathroom. Only one small problem, very thin pillows and not enough of them led to an uncomfortable night. However the communal rooms are lovely and the service was very good. The food was in a league of its own, the set menu had a nice choice and was fabulous, served in a very nice dining room. We had a 10 year old child with us who was able to have 4 courses like us with just a small amendement to her main meal as she doesnt like olives! Breakfast was equally as good. Very nice, would recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hookster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Great hosts Tessa and Christian really know how to look after you the food is awesome
the rooms are great and after hours of braving the worst sort of weather the showers are
invigorating all in all top notch...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MacTheKnife666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed on a weekend break Jan 2013. Extremely helpful and warm greeting from Tessa (apologies if I have the wrong name).
Room on the top floor large, tasteful in a traditional style with a large clean modern bathroom.
Great views and good location for checking out the Borders and Cheviots.
Public rooms very good, spacious with log fires.
Restaurant...superb, excellent food decent wine choice, first class service.
Great breakfast.
Nothing was too much trouble for Tessa. Responsive, helpful, charming.
I am sure we will return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yorktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We arrived in the rain, so the extensive views south were rather grey. We were lucky to be given a better room than we had booked, with plenty of space and a large, comfortable bed and modern bathroom. Dinner was a real pleasure, with interesting fresh, local ingredients well-chosen and extremely well cooked. The range of choices was sensibly small, but still varied enough. The wine list was very well chosen, with a good selection at the lower prices. I don't know whether the restaurant is open to non-residents, but I recommend it hightly.

Room Tip: There are only about 8 rooms, but most probably have panoramic views over the surrounding countrysid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We only found this hotel and restaurant by chance as we were travelling back south from Scotland. Our room is delightful, with a four poster bed and an extremely stylish but very usable bathroom. The view is beautiful and we have evrything we need, including free wifi. But dinner was amazing - if only we were staying longer. Completely worthy of a Michelin Star - surely it must get one soon. Local, fresh ingredients, well chosen and perfectly cooked and presented. Immaculate service. Why is there nothing like this where I live?

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jb1255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We have been to Tessa & Chris's Hotel every year for 10 years or so and we just love it. From the warm welcome, to the log fires in the lounge & dining room, to the lovely spacious rooms and last but certainly not least the fantastic leisurely eaten 5 star food we thoroughly enjoy it all. We are both in our 60's and have been to some really nice Hotels but this easily tops them. We will be back

Room Tip: Just talk to Tessa when booking, but we have been in most rooms and all are equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chirnside
5.9 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
488 reviews
8.6 mi away
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hot...
#1 of 2 in Cornhill-on-Tweed
346 reviews
6.8 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
7.6 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
426 reviews
17.2 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chirnside Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chirnside Hall Hotel

Address: Nr Duns | Berwickshire, Chirnside TD11 3LD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Chirnside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside
Price Range: £157 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chirnside Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chirnside Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chirnside Hall Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing