We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality - lovely house - fantastic location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brae House Bed And Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brae House Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Chirnside B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great hospitality - lovely house - fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We booked a two night stay at very short notice based on the reviews we'd read. We were made very welcome by Steve (Suzanne's husband) who made us a pot of tea on arrival and also provided us with flapjack and banana cake.
Our room was a twin and was lovely and spacious with a beautiful en-suite, the views from two sides of the room overlooked open countryside.
Steve's local knowledge was extremely useful as he was not only able to suggest places to visit but also pubs, restaurants and cafes and following his suggestions we had a great time.
Brae House is within easy driving distance of many great locations including Berwick on Tweed, St Abbs, Dunbar and North Berwick.
Breakfast was served in a lovely dining room looking out over farmland and the food was very tasty including home grown tomatoes (Steve gave us some tomatoes he'd roasted with herbs and garlic along with a packed of some seeds of flowers my wife had admired in the garden!).
We would both definitely stay at Brae House again and will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: The twin room we stayed had lovely views and although overlooking the nearby road was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

If you want to really switch off and get away from it all, then Chirnside is the place and the Brae House B&B just adds to the relaxation. The house is beautiful and I was made to feel very welcome. The room was lovely and the birds nesting in the eaves put on a great morning show. The breakfast was delicious and Suzanne made a gorgeous cake which I was very lucky to get a piece of. A special mention must be made of the couples day Seamus who really cheered me up in a morning!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porirua
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The setting is beautiful and restful and the room was lovely. Suzanne the host was friendly and helpful and the cooked breakfast was lovely. And we were fascinated by the house martins which kept swooping to the eaves of the house - where their nests were. Couldn't have hoped for more. Would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andromeda5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonypandy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Only stayed here the one night but was made very welcome by Suzanne A nice pot of tea and piece of cake on arrival after a long journey from South Wales. The room was really clean and homely. Told Suzanne that I was away early next morning and wouldn't be having breakfast there and she kindly made me a pack lunch to take with me the next day. High recommend place to stay if you are in the Scottish Borders.

Shay Bradshaw

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chirnside hotels
0.0 mi away
Chirnside Hall Hotel
Chirnside Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chirnside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Robins Nest Hotel
Robins Nest Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chirnside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brae House Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brae House Bed And Breakfast

Property: Brae House Bed And Breakfast
Address: Edington Hill | Chirnside, Chirnside TD11 3LE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Chirnside
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chirnside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brae House Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brae House Bed And Breakfast Chirnside, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing