We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* Rating”

Chirnside Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Chirnside
Price range: US$39 - US$52
Cuisines: British
Description: Ating and drinking at Chirnside Hall is an experience to be savoured, whether you want a romantic dinner for two, or a night out with friends. We welcome non-residents in the restaurant, as well as residents. Our four-course dinner menu changes daily, and offers you the best seasonal and local Scottish produce, cooked with a modern European twist. Game comes from our own estate, and we use meat, fish, seafood, fruit and vegetables from local farms and suppliers. Our menu usually includes iconic Scottish produce - from scallops to roe deer to Aberdeen Angus beef to raspberries, depending on what's in season. Our chef Tim Holmes daily works culinary wonders on other local ingredients too - from home-smoked pigeon to langoustine tortellini.
Restaurant details
Description: Ating and drinking at Chirnside Hall is an experience to be savoured, whether you want a romantic dinner for two, or a night out with friends. We welcome non-residents in the restaurant, as well as residents. Our four-course dinner menu changes daily, and offers you the best seasonal and local Scottish produce, cooked with a modern European twist. Game comes from our own estate, and we use meat, fish, seafood, fruit and vegetables from local farms and suppliers. Our menu usually includes iconic Scottish produce - from scallops to roe deer to Aberdeen Angus beef to raspberries, depending on what's in season. Our chef Tim Holmes daily works culinary wonders on other local ingredients too - from home-smoked pigeon to langoustine tortellini.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“5* Rating”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The food was fantastic, best we have tasted in England/Scotland in years our compliments to the chef and al that Tessa and her husband put in to ensure that the food is cooked to the guests likng











Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A hidden heaven”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Ate here in Feb as a group of 7, everything was perfect, the pre dinner drinks with canapés the lovely fire and cosy couches then into the magnificent dining room for an exquisite 4 course meal, could not fault anything the service was fantastic the setting amazing the food just divine. Was our first visit and we are looking forwards to returning!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caro5176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Evening”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

This was the first time we have been to Chirnside Hall and it most definitely won't be the last. Our group was greeted with a wonderful welcome from Tessa and the evening flowed seamlessly from there. The food was absolutely divine, the service first class and the decor was beautiful. Couldn't fault a single thing. Thoroughly recommend! Can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
Thank DomRepTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottish borders
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A diamond in the Scottish Borders”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel just outside Chirnside invites non residents to book for dinner,
WOW. what a find. An eclectic set menu of high quality local produced food cooked and served to Michelin Star standard. Each element of our meal was exemplary ,the atmosphere relaxed and informal, a place for easy dining or special occasion .
The menu changes are frequent and therefore exciting with a Nordic touch.
Be sure to book well in advance especially during the fishing season when the hotel is full.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank qaranc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A few days away in Scotland”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We were blown away by this gem of a hotel. Privately run to an excellent standard, nothing was too much trouble. Food was plentiful and sumptuous. A great base for a spot of salmon fishing (which was my reason for visiting) ideally located near to the Whiteadder River, a tributary of the Tweed. Shooting too takes place from here to a fantastic standard under the expert guidance of Christian and Tessa. Edinburgh is only a short train journey away from the station at Berwick upon Tweed, and a visit is highly recommended. We will be back!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NessBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chirnside Hall Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Chirnside Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing