We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First Family Holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Northend
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Northend
Relax in the sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Northend
Relax in the sitting room
Enjoy time together in the kitchen
Experience some local produce
Soak up in the tub
Large main bathroom
Enclosed Garden
Shared Play Area
Shared Play Area
Views of our surrounding farmland
Coldingham Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chirnside, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deb R
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Family Holiday”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic stay at the cottage. We have two young children who thoroughly enjoyed the garden especially the climbing frame. We used the cottage as a base to explore the surrounding area. When we arrived we were warmly greeted by Emily and there was a freshly baked loaf waiting for us which was a very nice touch.
The only thing we would say that caused us any issue was the lack of a dryer as two children generate a lot of washing and we had to dry them on the towel radiator in the bathroom. However this is a very small issue.
The whole family have really enjoyed our week at the cottage and would definitely look into staying again in the future if the occasion arises

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Lack of a Dryer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, we're so pleased your whole family loved the cottage so much. I'm so sorry you hadn't found the fold away dryer we have, which is located in the cupboard at the top of the stairs. I shall make a note to inform guests on arrival where such items are located. We look forward to welcoming you again for future holidays.

Kind Regards,

Simon & Emily
Old Farm Holiday Cottages (Chirnside)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scasey658
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accomodation, brilliant hosts”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 nights (my wife and two children aged 5 and 6). Had a great time - lovely surroundings, very peaceful, wonderful hosts. Cant get any better!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesma...
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing retreat away from the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this lovely cottage to celebrate my husband's birthday and weren't disappointed with anything... We were warmly welcomed by Emily and wee Hamish. The cottage was exceptionally clean, comfortable and spacious providing absolutely everything needed for a lovely holiday. The beds were very comfortable, the large bathroom was a real treat for a relaxing bath at the end of a day out, and the CoOp very handy in the nearby village for my beloved newspaper each morning.
We had never visited this part of the country before but were delighted to find the cottage rural but also conveniently central to a lot of tourist routes and attractions. We are planning to visit again next year without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect, difficult to choose......
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmarsh...
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic quality accommodation in great location”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Booked the cottage as we were looking to go to Edinburgh. Approximately 60 miles from Edinburgh but easy 1 hour car ride.

The pictures captured our eye and the accommodation looked perfect - and it really is better than the pictures and a lovely cottage

Great accommodation with everything provided and Emily and Simon (the owners) could not have been more helpful

It is so peaceful and quiet, in the middle of nowhere, but with everything only a short drive away ...........pub (with meals) is a short walk although we never actually went as we spent long days out and curled up on the very comfy sofa when we got back to the cottage

If you want a quiet relaxing break in excellent quality accommodation but with lots of beautiful places to visit then this is the perfect place

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great quality accommodation
Liked least: Nothing - It was perfect in every way
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
481Fiona
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful relaxing country retreat within range of lots to see and do!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were warmly welcomed to Northend cottage to find a perfect base for exploring the East side of the Borders. The cottage was beautifully decorated with everything required for a comfortable week long stay. The cottage was in easy range of must do activities such as Eyemouth for fish and chips, visit Lindisfarne for some mead and take a boat trip from Seahouses to see wild birds off the Farne Islands.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lornac842
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful farmhouse, decorated with great style, taste and wee finishing touches.”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very lovely welcome from Emily and the fresh bread, milk, tea and coffee is a nice touch.

The farmhouse has a large lounge for relaxing in / watching TV / DVDs, handy downstairs loo, and all crockery and utensils you will need in the fab dining kitchen. Upstairs is HUGE! Amazing bathroom and two large and comfortable bedrooms with loads of storage for your clothes / cases.

The bonus of a private garden to the side of the cottage is just great. Good views of the surrounding fields and only birdsong to interrupt the peace! Relaxed at the picnic table and admired the flowers and butterflies a few times.

Only 15/20 minutes walk into the village for the CoOp and post office etc and just under 15 minutes drive to the supermarkets in Berwick upon Tweed / access to the A1. it's an ideal location whether you want to just relax, or do some sightseeing. Internet access was very good as was phone signal (surprising as we didn't expect that due to rural location).

We would have liked to have stayed longer but it was almost fully booked when we found it - I decided that I could quite happily have lived there after a couple of days! If we are planning a return trip to the Borders, we will be checking if this is available first!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing surroundings
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing