We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Accommodation! Good Location! Lovely...”
other travellers have booked this property
Northend
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Northend
Relax in the sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Northend
Relax in the sitting room
Enjoy time together in the kitchen
Experience some local produce
Soak up in the tub
Large main bathroom
Enclosed Garden
Shared Play Area
Shared Play Area
Views of our surrounding farmland
Coldingham Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chirnside, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
X4543WJsh...
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Accommodation! Good Location! Lovely Owners! Stunning Scenery!!”
Reviewed 14 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We have just stayed in the 'Northend' part of the farmhouse in early June 2018!!
This is our second holiday at Northend and it was as fabulous as the first time two years ago.
Simon and Emily and their three small children are extremely friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble!
The accommodation is spotless and beautifully decorated and furnished.
There is a lovely kitchen with all modern appliances including a dishwasher and washing machine.
The living room is furnished with a large corner sofa and large Samsung TV which also has some sky channels!
There is a free-standing roll top bath in the family bathroom as well as a separate shower cubical.
There is a downstairs toilet too.
There are two lovely furnished bedrooms, one double room and one twin bed room - both are fully furnished with plenty of storage and hanging space.
Outside has parking on one side and the other side has a lovely fenced off private garden with a bench, picnic table and a new charcoal barbecue.
Simon and Emily leave you a charcoal bag so your first barbecue is ready and waiting!!
There is a small children's climbing tree house with a swing and slide which is visible from the garden and a small gate gives you direct access.
There is also free WiFi available and it is a really good signal!
To walk to the nearest village is a 15 minute walk and there is a small CoOp, Butcher, Post Office, a takeaway chip shop that also sells cooked chicken and the local pub The Red Lion which serves lovely home cooked food - the chips are amazing!!!
The countryside and scenery are stunning at anytime of year.
The first time we stayed was in October and that was as beautiful as this holiday in June.
It is just 7 or 8 miles to get to Morrison's, Aldi, a petrol station and McDonald's. An extra couple of miles to Berwick Upon Tweed!
Edinburgh is about 50 miles away and you can drive, get a bus or go by train.
I took my daughter and her friend on the train which was about £20 each return and took about 40 minutes - it is so much easier by train than driving and then having trouble to park.
My Hubby went off fly fishing on the local river's and the fishing licence was £15 and can be bought from the local post office.
To sum up everything this is a fabulous accommodation in a fabulous position with fantastic hosts!!
We are definitely going back for a third time in the near future and highly recommend it!!!!
I give it 10/10!!
Sharon, Dave, Kerry and Chloe

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2018
Hi Sharon, Dave, Kerry & Chloe

Thank you so much for your wonderful & comprehensive review! We are so delighted you & your family had a lovely holiday & stay in our Northend cottage.  We take great pride in making our cottages a home from home, in a fantastic location & it's fantastic to read the lovely review.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Old Farm Holiday Cottages.

Kind regards

Emily & Simon
Old Farm Holiday Cottages
Scottish Borders
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martincM3...
Lincoln
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Northend”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed at Old Farm Cottages Northend first week of July. This was our second visit here and we will return again I'm sure. Cottage is a home from home everything you would need is there Kitchen fully equipped wash machine dish washer fridge and freezer, plenty of pots pans and utensils. Barbecue outside although we never used it. Lovely living area, mega bathroom when at home our bathroom is something of a shoebox this bathroom is huge with a centre piece bathtub! Great views from cottage and very short walk gives you even better views. Lots of nice towns and villages within easy reach. If you like to cycle like us there is storage for a cycling team never mind just two, and the area to ride around is superb.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan_Bru...
Uddingston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed here for a week in June 2016 and I can't recommend it more highly. The hosts greeted us on arrival and the accommodation is excellent. It's really spacious (the pictures don't do it justice!) and everything is really modern. There was a home-made loaf of bread and milk waiting for us on arrival which was a nice touch. The property is close to lots of attractions so you won't be short of things to do. A hidden gem we found was Cove Harbour around 20 minutes away, which was well worth the visit.

My only comment is that there is no sign to the property from the road, and once you're on the access road the only sign to indicate you're there says 'Key collection' which could've been clearer (e.g. 'Old Farm Holiday Cottages - Key Collection').

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Larger than expected”
Reviewed 25 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Just stayed a week here. Was expecting something smaller, but each of the rooms - lounge, kitchen/diner, bathroom and bedrooms are really spacious. It was very clean and tidy. Was just perfect for us. Was a great Base for exploring the area. Close to local coop for essential supplies. Bread and milk waiting for us as we arrived.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a GREAT STAY!”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

As a newly married couple (on their honeymoon), who just needed somewhere to relax in a cosy house, this was perfect. It was warm, brilliantly equipped and far exceeded our expectations.
The location is also ideal, surrounded by beautiful scenery in a rural area. Whilst having Edinburgh an hour away (and easily accessed via public transport), as well as a nearby town, Kelso, which is 40 minutes away. There are numerous other towns and villages dotted around the area which are pleasant to visit. There are also many walking/hiking opportunities.
The house owners were very helpful and friendly. We are very much looking forward to coming back to this house for a holiday at some point and would love to bring our friends too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall homeliness and quality of the house.
Liked least: Hard to say!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb R
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Family Holiday”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic stay at the cottage. We have two young children who thoroughly enjoyed the garden especially the climbing frame. We used the cottage as a base to explore the surrounding area. When we arrived we were warmly greeted by Emily and there was a freshly baked loaf waiting for us which was a very nice touch.
The only thing we would say that caused us any issue was the lack of a dryer as two children generate a lot of washing and we had to dry them on the towel radiator in the bathroom. However this is a very small issue.
The whole family have really enjoyed our week at the cottage and would definitely look into staying again in the future if the occasion arises

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Lack of a Dryer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, we're so pleased your whole family loved the cottage so much. I'm so sorry you hadn't found the fold away dryer we have, which is located in the cupboard at the top of the stairs. I shall make a note to inform guests on arrival where such items are located. We look forward to welcoming you again for future holidays.

Kind Regards,

Simon & Emily
Old Farm Holiday Cottages (Chirnside)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scasey658
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accomodation, brilliant hosts”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 nights (my wife and two children aged 5 and 6). Had a great time - lovely surroundings, very peaceful, wonderful hosts. Cant get any better!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing