We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous pet-friendly rental, fabulous location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glenvarloch

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Huge Open-plan Kitchen with Island and Dining room / Atrium First Floor Living Room with Smart TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Huge Open-plan Kitchen with Island and Dining room / Atrium
First Floor Living Room with Smart TV
Sociable Kitchen
Window seat in atrium
Ground Floor Double Bedroom with adjacent Shower Room / WC
Ground Floor Twin Bedroom with adjacent Shower Room / WC
First Floor King-size Master Bed with Ensuite Shower / Whirlpool Bath
First floor Master Bedroom with ensuite
Master Bedroom Ensuite - Whirlpool Bath / Shower
First floor quiet area and King Size sofa bed
Minstrels Gallery on first floor
Glenvarloch Entrance and atrium from South East
Suspension Bridge at Strathyre 200 metres
Broch at Strathyre 150 metres
Strathyre 'Beach' on River Balvaig 200 metres
Loch Lubnaig from An Shean - well worth the effort !
Glenvarloch decorated for Christmas
Atrium in Winter with Tighanes Burn running along Southern Boundary
River Balvaig iced over - Glenvarloch cosy even in -20C
Glenvarloch in Spring with An Shean in the Background
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Strathyre, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
petetrotm...
Welland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous pet-friendly rental, fabulous location”
Reviewed 29 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Location is fantastic as a hub to explore Loch Lomond and the Trossachs and further afield. This is such a beautiful area of Scotland. Even if you didn't want to travel far the Broch Café 100yds away is fantastic and with the pub on the other side of the road and the local shop around 250yds away you have everything at your disposal. Walks available straight from the property are a bonus. We will definitely be visiting again. Our particular highlight was a sparrowhawk flying into the house which I had to rescue and release back into the wild.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandJeate...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A real home from home”
Reviewed 24 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This was our second trip within the last year to Glenvarloch and we were not disappointed!
The house itself is so spacious and comfortable! All creature comforts are catered for to make your stay more enjoyable...the whirlpool bath is so relaxing!
The cottage is perfectly located for both walking and trips to significant historical sights.
We will certainly be back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharont01...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 22 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Another wonderful stay at Glenvarloch, lovely warm clean welcoming house. Had a fabulous weeks holiday from sunshine to snow.
Everything you could possibly need is provided for, even a pair of golden eagles flying over the mountain behind the house

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family holiday”
Reviewed 13 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned after our second visit to this holiday cottage. It's a very spacious place. The kitchen is well equipped and has an added bonus with a dishwasher, washer and tumble drier- always of benefit with a family. The master bedroom is very spacious. There is also a good sized double downstairs, a twin room downstairs and a Double sofa bed off the upstairs lounge. The whirlpool bath is an added bonus. The underfloor heating provided plentiful heat too. We had a slight problem with the Tele, but the hosts were very quick to attend and was resolved the next day. The surrounding area is very scenic and ideal for walking with many local walks very close.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NostraNap...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holiday January ‘18”
Reviewed 15 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This home is beautiful, with everything you need for a cozy stay after long, cold walks! It’s spacious and comfortable, with the kitchen/dining area being open and perfect for socialising whilst cooking in the evening. Having a washer and dryer means that you can pack light. Lovely plush white towels are provided. Even a thoughtful welcome gift of wine and shortbread. We had a wonderful week and we’re looking forward to returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jim m
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family and pet friendly”
Reviewed 4 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The location was perfect - snow was an added bonus for the two boys and our cocker spaniel. This a terrific house with loads of space to accommodate mixed age groups. We were two grandparents with our two sons and daughter in laws plus two grandchildren, age 10 and 3. Loads of walks and very near other tourist sites if required. We didn't need to visit any. Pub across the road did a good meal - a bit slow but we weren't going anywhere and it was worth waiting for.
Would visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great accommodation in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 11 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed as a group of 4 adults and two children. The property is well-maintained and spacious, with more than enough room for our party of 6. Kitchen is well stocked, with good wifi and a nice coffee shop a minute's walk away. The location is perfect - easy access from Stirling, but on the footsteps of the mountains and some great walks (including walks for little ones).

Of particular note was that, through no fault of the owners, we managed to overpay. To their credit, the owners noticed this at a later date, told us immediately and arranged a refund.

Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing