We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, nice food but rooms could be better”
Review of The White Stag

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Stag
Ranked #4 of 6 Strathyre B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My husband & I booked a late rooms deal to the inn, as the weather was too cold for camping on the Easter weekend. We brought our bikes to make the most of the location, which is right on NCN cycle route 7. We arrived on Friday afternoon & had only booked in for 1 night. Our bikes were stored under the archway, which has a locked gate, so that was a positive! We were given room 5, which is apparently the most popular. The room was fine, apart from the small tv, which had a built in video player, and the lack of drawer space meant we left our clothes in our bags. There was a wardrobe, but as we were cycling all weekend, didn't really have many things that needed to be hung up. We cycled to Callander late Friday afternoon & got back for dinner at around 6.45 pm. They had kept us a table, which was nice, as the bar area was fully booked. There is a dining room too, but the bar has a nice atmosphere. I had fish & chips and my husband had the scampi. The fish was nice but the chips were frozen ones which were under cooked. Homemade ones would be much nicer here, but maybe that's just me as I'm not a frozen chip fan. We decided to ask if we could stay another night, as we were planning a long cycle the next day and didn't want to have to drive home after that. Our room was booked but they offered us the room over the bar, and did tell us it was noisy, but we agreed anyway. So we packed up our stuff in the morning for the maid to move, but as it turned out, we got to stay in our room as they had a cancellation. On the second night we had neighbours in the next room and the walls are so thin you can hear every word. Floors too, as we could hear conversations from the dining room below. I can't imagine what the room over the bar would be like.
Breakfast was ok, and a nice touch on Easter Sunday was a toasted hot cross bun.
The location of the Inn for us is great, and I may stay there again, however, wouldn't really recommend it to friends

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Annbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

Enjoyed my third Hogmanay here. Jill and Steve are great hosts. The service is excellent , the food in the bistro was very good and the atmosphere in the bar very enjoyable. Rooms are good for an Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Have been staying at the inn for over 4 years sometimes 2-3 times a year have never had a bad year yet the owners Jill & Steve are excellent hosts. The food is very good and service great bar staff look after you at all times and will be back in 2013.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John041964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

i stayed here for one night - single occupancy of a double room. the staff were nice and welcoming, and at first the room seemed fine. but it was pretty down-at-heel really - thin curtains, tv didn't seem to work, uncomfortable duvet and pillows, etc. there was lots of noise from the pub downstairs, which i didn't mind - seems unreasonable to object to people enjoying a friday night drink, after all - but there was an electrics cupboard adjacent to my bedroom wall which whirred and ticked all night long. like having a loud and slightly fast clock in the room. i ended up sleeping on the bathroom floor to get away from the noise. when i explained to the staff in the morning they took £10 off the bill. i'd suggest that the rooms would benefit from a freshen up and a bit of care and attention to make them more comfortable and appealing.

Room Tip: avoid room 6 if you're likely to be troubled by ticking noises from the electrics cupboard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AilsaCelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stayed here for a night with friends on a cycling tour. great bar and very friendly and helpful staff. Food perfect for hungry folk - recommend the chefs chilli. Breakfast again perfect for folk heading out for a day on the hills. Rooms basic but fine if you are only looking to shower and sleeep.

Will definitely be back if looking for a stopover in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stopped here at 4.30pm to have a meal after seeing board outside saying food served all day. Parked the car walked back went in and guess what no food being served. We would have to wait for half an hour. The staff made no apology did not offer an alternative or encourage us to stay by asking if we wanted a drink or coffee. This was the second restuarant that we tried in Strathyre with the same result. However all was not lost as we went on to Callander and had a meal at the superb Mhor Fish.

Why have a notice outside?

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank watrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Had a lovely three night stay with my husband and our dog. Room was adequate for a base for seeing the area. Attention to detail could be better. Eg the room had been recently decorated and new carpet but the blind in the bathroom needed changing and the windows still had putty on from a recent repair but it was perfectly clean. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. We ate in the bar each evening and had three wonderful meals wth a good crowd of locals. The dog was welcome anywhere. Breakfasts were superb. I would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Jofog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathyre
6.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosebank House Bed and Breakfast
0 mi away
Ben Sheann Hotel
Ben Sheann Hotel
#5 of 6 in Strathyre
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Airlie House Bed and Breakfast
0 mi away
The Munro Inn
The Munro Inn
#1 of 2 in Strathyre
27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Creagan House
Creagan House
#2 of 6 in Strathyre
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Stag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Stag

Address: Main Street, Strathyre, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK18 8NA, Scotland (Formerly Inn at Strathyre)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Strathyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strathyre
Price Range: £58 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Stag 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The White Stag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Stag Strathyre, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing