We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation and food”
Review of The White Stag

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Stag
Ranked #4 of 6 Strathyre B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2007

The Inn was taken over by new friendly management in 2006 and now provides good accommodation and food at competitive prices. Children are very welcome and it is a good stopover point on the Rob Roy Way.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishwalker70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoloB, owner at The White Stag, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2008

Hi thanks for the comment but the previous owners did all the hard work on the rooms not us.As for the food they had wonderful turn-over and that is why we bought their business from them. I ate there a few times before buying the place and the food was wonderful. The rooms were also spick and span and they spent thousands on getting the beer garden in motion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for The White Stag
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2006

A two night stay in a nice area of Scotland.Hosts pleasant enough but rooms were not very well cleaned - indeed I had to roll up rug on arrival as it was dirty and not hoovered- we did mention this on the first night but nothing was done about it. Closet interiors dirty and had other peoples hair in them. TV had been removed from room leaving a big pile of dust where it once stood! The bin in room had someone else's rubbish in it when we arrived. Shame as the lack of hygiene really just made me want to get out of there!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trekkerayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoloB, owner at The White Stag, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2008

In response to your bad comments. You had two dogs with you and a baby and they made some mess in the flat that was rented to you for two days. This flat had only been completely stripped and revovated and everything was pristine clean until your dogs covered the place in dog hair. Dirty nappies were left for two days as you would not allow the staff in to clean. When you asked to have your room reduced by fity per cent (it was £25 per night for two adults, two dogs and a child) I pointed out that £11 was a ridiculous price and that we have had no complaints before you. We and the villagers feel that you wanted everything for nothing as you ate at the hotel next door and tried to get money off that also(they phoned us). It is in bad taste to try and damage the reputation of a hotel and especially one of the inn at strathyre which is the best one in the street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank thoki709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Oeloel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ne pas prendre la chambre au dessus du pub!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathyre
4.7 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
803 reviews
12.1 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
11.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Munro Inn
The Munro Inn
#1 of 2 in Strathyre
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosebank House Bed and Breakfast
16.6 mi away
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tyndrum
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Stag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Stag

Address: Main Street, Strathyre, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK18 8NA, Scotland (Formerly Inn at Strathyre)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Strathyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strathyre
Price Range: £58 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Stag 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your The White Stag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Stag Strathyre, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing