We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rose Guest House
Ranked #5 of 10 Lochinver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zuerich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wonderful view”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

nice house, clean, tidy, cool staff, and big terrace with a superb view over the bay and the village. Good tips for dinner and sightseeing from the owner.
We,two families from Switzerland stayed over night would love to return for a longer stay....
Nic

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    62
    35
    15
    13
See reviews for
39
76
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2012

a very welcome rest stop for an other weary traveller. stunning location id pay the very reasonable price just for the view, never mind the bed and the very welcoming staff who cant do enough for you. the free wifi is also a good bonus.
cheers to ed and staff
scot r

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rigby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

It was not a pleasant stay at The Rose Guest House ! There's no doubt the owners and their team of staff are very friendly and welcoming - so I agree with other reviewers on that. However the Guest House fails on virtually every other point and seriously needs to invest to make improvements to match other B&Bs in the region. All I would suggest you do is see the room before you commit so you are sure you are happy.
The room I had was cold and needed more ventilation as was clearly damp. There was extensive peeling wall paper and a damp patch on the ceiling. No heating came on despite a cold evening and night. The bed was not comfortable. There was only a very small sink in the room and the shared toilet was some way down the corridor. There was very little privacy as the entrance hall was right by the bedroom door and was overlooked by the owner's kitchen. There was a lot of activity in the entrance hall and noise from the kitchen after 11pm, which resumed before 7 am as breakfasts were prepared. The walls are extremely thin so noise from outside the room and adjoining room was a problem. The shared shower was electric but did not deliver enough water pressure to offer a decent shower. It was suggested I use the shower upstairs for a better shower. That's through the entrance hall and up a flight of stairs to get a working shower ! All toilet and shower facilities are dated and need improvement.I raised my concerns directly with the owners.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mytrippp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

on arriving at he hotel i thought we were at the wrong place as it did not look any thing like it was on the web would have gone elsewhere if hadnt paid deposit in advance. the whole place is more like faulty towers and was very cold, no heating even in april. the cups and plates were badly marked and chipped. fire exstinguisher sitting on stairway landing and not of british issue. I can only say choose some ware else. very over priced for what you get.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank motorbikejunglejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Having just done an overnight wildcamp and climbed suilven i was ready for a hot bath and a comfy bed; Ed couldnt offer me the former, but the hot shower was wonderful, and the bed was indeed comfy. It was a little late to go looking for dinner so Ed kindly made me a home-cooked dinner, catering effortlessly for my veggyness (his onion soup was particularly good).. Ed was very, very welcoming, and the view from The Rose is a bit special. My room looked over the harbour and away to the very mountain i'd been on that morning!. I went on my way north well rested an well fed.

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank martin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballydehob, Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We arrived with no booking late in the day and were immediately made welcome with tea and biscuits. Brilliant friendly service, room with top of the world view and a set-u-up for the day breakfast with coffee to your own personal taste. Ed is a great fella who would do anything to make you feel completely at home.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dink R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

A great stay. Room with a view of Suilven, very friendly owner (Ed) and a lovely full Scottish breakfast. Incredible value at £28 (as of Feb 2012). Would definitely stay again. Ed is a dude.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochinver
0.5 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
363 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
18.1 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park House B & B
Park House B & B
#7 of 10 in Lochinver
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Davar Guest House
Davar Guest House
#1 of 10 in Lochinver
252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tigh Na Sith Guest House
Tigh Na Sith Guest House
#2 of 10 in Lochinver
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose Guest House

Property: The Rose Guest House
Address: Baddidaroch Road | Ardglas, Lochinver IV27 4LJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lochinver
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lochinver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Rose Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose Guest House Lochinver, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing