We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five stars to The Rose B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rose Guest House
Ranked #5 of 9 Lochinver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holbaek, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Five stars to The Rose B&B”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

During our one week driving around in Scotland, we dropped in for one night at The Rose B&B in Lochinver. The house is certainly not new, and there is still a lot to do for Ed & co. , but the excellent service easily makes up for that.
The bedroom with own bath was nice and clean. The bed was good (you don't find that in every B&B), and the view was wonderful.
Breakfast was very good. The best during our week in Scotland, and included was the only real brewed coffee we got during our stay in Scotland. Thank you Ed!
Five stars to The Rose B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    62
    34
    15
    13
See reviews for
39
75
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed at the Rose Guest House on our cycling holiday up the NW coast of Scotland and chose the Rose Guest House for our stay in Lochinver. Ed was very helpful when we made the booking, and gave us a warm welcome on arrival. He is gradually upgrading the property, and our en-suite room was excellent. The breakfast was superb with a good choice of menu and all perfectly cooked. The location is excellent with views over the Lochinver harbour and it is within easy walking distance of two restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I might not be good in English so I apologize for any grammatical errors.
From 15 to 20 May 2013 we traveled around Scotland and 19 May we stopped in Lochinver, where we spend the night in the Rose B & B. We had a very nice and clean room with three beds and a beautiful view. We slept in seven different B & B in Scotland and Ed was the only one who knew where Slovenia is. At breakfast we liked it when we get a piece of paper on which you mark what you want to eat.
Summary: friendly, homely atmosphere, very nice and warm (especially when we woke up in a nice sunny morning), and the beautiful surroundings.

With kind regards,

Uroš&Klavdija&Lars from Slovenia

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klavdija L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Over bank holiday ended up lockinver great ride in and out on seperate roads, watch for other road users but what fun. Stayed with Ed and great staff. Ed welcomed us and had no problem fitting us in without a reservation and was helpful with roads being a rider himself. Slept well and ablutions where adequate. Breakfast as said by others was good and saw me through into the afternoon after a hard mornings ride. Town is lovely and people are friendly. Restuarant/pub we suppered in was good. Hopefully will get a chance to go back for a longer visit and will stay at Ed's

Room Tip: Had ground floor double and single bed room with basin and kettle. Communal Shower cubicle and seper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolf63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Gallen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Just was there in May 2013 for several days and really liked the B&B. The house is a simple but nice arranged house where I really felt at home. The owner, Ed, is friendly and very helpful. If you need some answers he will always be available. Although the staff helping in the house is very friendly. It always was a pleasure to have a little talk to her during breakfeast.
The breakfeast which Ed himself prepares is very well done. You have the selection between some cereals, toast, sausage, bacon, black pudding, haggis, beans, eggs-scrambled or cooked, coffee, tea, juice, jam .. hope I didn't forget anything. The rooms are clean, free wifi is available. I had a TV in my room and a kettle with coffee and tea inside my room. The bathrooms are outside the room and commonly used, but there are several bathrooms available, so no problem in the morning and last no least the bathrooms itself were clean.
In my opinion a good B&B especially for the offered price. It's not a first class hotel but a very clean, well arranged and friendly B&B, which offers all you need for a stay in the Highlands and for sure I will come back the next time I am in Lochinver.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weltenbummler_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2013

great breakfast and service ,endless supplys of tea and toast ,eds cooked breakfast are magic ,pity eds a golfer and not a fisherman .could have done with some help picking the best ones to fish,he he.room was clean and tidy ,with tv and a kettle.also had a wardrobe.had a single bed which was very comfortable,nice to open your curtains in the morning to find some hind deer looking up at you.also my last morning saw 2 ferraris ,1 lamborghinis and a lotus.defo be back
























































































































magic ;



















pi


























ty

Room Tip: never saw the other bedrooms ,but i had a twinroom all for myself
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardsville
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Clean, efficient, friendly Dutch people operate this Scottish B&B. Quiet, clean sleeping room, nice relation room with guitar to play, and nice music at breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, it was the best we had on our trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DexBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochinver
0.5 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Park House B & B
Park House B & B
#7 of 9 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Davar Guest House
Davar Guest House
#1 of 9 in Lochinver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tigh Na Sith Guest House
Tigh Na Sith Guest House
#2 of 9 in Lochinver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
11.7 mi away
Altnacealgach Motel
Altnacealgach Motel
#5 of 10 in Lairg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose Guest House

Property: The Rose Guest House
Address: Baddidaroch Road | Ardglas, Lochinver IV27 4LJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lochinver
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lochinver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Rose Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose Guest House Lochinver, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing