We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Little Hotel Ever?”
Review of Inver Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inver Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lochinver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2012

If you want to spoil yourself and be looked after in stylish comfort and surrounded by spectacular views, do travel the extra (lots of) miles to get here. I love to be greeted in the car park on arrival, it has only ever happened once before and it set the tone for the interest and care that the staff heap upon you. They are an international bunch and this creates a sophistication that combines well with the Scottish staples. DO try whisky on your porridge for instance and eat the freshest of fish and seafood from right on your dockside, served with a continental dash. Ask for the sauna and the snooker rooms as they added an extra veneer of comfort and do sit by the log fire in the lounge. Everything is thought of, even that essential drying room for soggy boots. Do walk to the Man of Stoer for a view not to die for, but to kill for. Only kidding. We went up on the sleeper train from euston and hired a car from inverness and drove past some of the best mountain views ever. I want to go back, soon now. Thank you for our lovely stay.

Room Tip: Any room, draw the blinds if you are shy on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3toedsloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

My self and the team were delighted to read your review of your recent stay at Inver Lodge, and to know how much you enjoyed yourselves. Our aim is to make guest genuinely welcome and to have a memorable stay, we are pleased that we have succeded on this occassion. We look forward to welcoming you back before too long. Nicholas Gorton, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
There are newer reviews for Inver Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights with breakfast and also dinned in the Chez Roux restaurant for the first night. We had a wonderful time and were welcomed as if old friends by the duty Manager, Nicholas. Our room was spotless and the facilities excellent. We used the sauna which was lovely. We also had our little dog with us and it was great for her too. I really could not fault anything about our stay. All the staff were professional, courteous and extremely pleasant. The views were beautiful. Chez Roux was a delicious experience and we were very satisfied with the quality and quantity of the food served. I wasn't sad to leave as I know we will definitely return in the near future. Ms Medina and Mr Gorton, our sincere thanks for all your assistance.

Room Tip: We had room 7 which was quiet and very comfortable. However, the way that this hotel is designed, I...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank actionmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Inver Lodge. Myself and the team are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your first visit to the hotel and we look forward to welcoming the three of you back to the hotel. Best regards, Nicholas Gorton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed at the The Inver Lodge Hotel for three nights earlier this year and had a most fantastic time. When we arrived the staff came out to greet us with a warm welcome. Throughout the stay nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The manager is great and runs a really good ship. Our room was really spacious, clean and warm. We ate in the restaurant on two nights and the food and service were excellent, from pre-dinner drinks to after dinner sitting by the brilliant log fire. Breakfast is very good and the restaurant has fantastic views over the bay. It is an expensive hotel, but you pay for quality. One night we had a meal at the local pub called Caberfeidh, which has good real ale and a nice restaurant. It was walking distance.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a good sea view - we had a standard room and it was spacious.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonoLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Another splendid stay at this rather severe and functional from the outside hotel in appearance (but remember the weather in winter is severe this high up) , which has served us well in 3 visits over ten years. Don’t be fooled though, as a warm welcome awaits and the public rooms and bedrooms are splendid. The food was first rate as is the service. Good wine list, too. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trencherman1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write a review following your recent stay which is much appreciated. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here and that the food, service and general ambiance of the interior of Inver Lodge made it a complete and happy return visit.
Winter well.
Nicholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I have not stayed at the Inver Lodge since the "Roux Makeover" and expected exactly that a makeover. How wrong can you be ! The Hotel always excelled on the "extra mile" personal service and attention to detail but the changes made in the refurbishment have truly made a major improvement to the overall feel of the hotel.

The rooms are EXTREMELY comfortable and spacious and I understand further renovations are scheduled this winter. The intimate feel of this hotel has been retained and this is largely due to the nature of the staff and the fact that many have been there for many years.

The restaurant offers EXCELLENT food at a price that was less than I might have expected to pay.

All in all across the 20 + years I have known this hotel it is refreshing to see standards maintained and IMPROVED, not many places can do that ! Changes of this magnitude often leave long serving staff behind, rather the opposite here, they have been driven forward by the team to excellent effect.

If they will have me I will be back next year !

Room Tip: They are all great, there are no bad rooms ! "The Suites" overlooking Canisp and Suliven...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAL:London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2011

On a dark cold grey day, it was a warming delight to read the review of your recent visit to Inver Lodge for which I thank you. A lot of work has gone in to the refurbishment of the hotel and as you mention it is ongoing this winter with new bathrooms being installed ready for our re-opening on 1st April 2012.
We like to think that Inver Lodge is a special place and are always delighted to read that our guests feel the same way.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next come north.
Nicholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I booked this hotel because we all needed two or three days of high quality R&R after a tough few months but had been slightly apprehensive that it might be too formal or stuffy for us to enjoy the experience in full. I couldn't have been more wrong! We were welcomed very warmly by name and as we reached Lochinver a little later than intended, would not have been able to have dinner promptly in the restaurant because of other bookings. However, the staff were very sensitive to our needs, not least that one of our group was extremely tired and convalescing. As a result they came up with a very imaginative solution to our need to eat sooner rather than later, serving excellent tempura fish & chips with a perfectly chilled bottle of wine - and with some panache(!) - in one of our rooms. It was just what the doctor ordered! We did eat in the restaurant and enjoyed the signature dishes enormously, as we had done in London in the past. Although we were not there to fish or shoot or trek long distances, we felt just as much at ease as those who were. We all enjoy photography, art, landscape and topography so were in awe of the views and stunning surroundings. At least one of the group cannot wait to return to photograph the local peaks "from every angle" and sample more of the fine food and outstanding service offered by the staff. What a shame he has only days left before the hotel closes for the winter, not least as it would be an idyllic winter bolt-hole!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of your stay at Inver Lodge.
I am delighted to read how much you all enjoyed your visit from the moment you arrived until you departed. As a team we endeavour to make our guests feel welcome and to try and anticipate their needs without being overzealous, it is very important that our guests leave feeling that they have accomplished their aims and wanting to return.
I hopefully look forward to welcoming you back next year after 1st April.
Nicholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I have been visiting this hotel for 17 years so I have some idea of what to expect. I am just back from my most recent visit and feel I have to put my views down in writing.
The hotel is simply wonderful. The building may be functional rather than beautiful but after a recent refurbishment the interior is charming, comfortable and very atmospheric. The views to all directions are simply stunning and after all the years they still take my breath away.
The bedrooms are extremely well appointed with every need catered for, and all rooms have a sea view.
The food is magnificent. The breakfasts are a feast with a huge choice and the dinners are sublime. The wine list has something for every taste and budget.
But where this hotel really scores is the staff. Without exception they are all absolutely charming and keen to make sure you enjoy your stay. They are not over the top but very professional in ensuring everything is as you would like it. I am sure this comes from the Manager, Nicholas Gorton, who has been at the hotel since it opened. He clearly demands high standards from his staff and he gets just that, but he also helps and serves with the staff which must do wonders for morale.
In short you must stay there if you are anywhere nearby. If you are not a fisherman there is still a wealth of stuff to do and see.
Take it from me, you will go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokedsalmon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Thank you for putting your thoughts on your recent stay at Inver Lodge on trip advisor. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the refurbished hotel, and our Chez Roux Restaurant.
We all enjoy making sure that our guests feel welcome and treasured enjoying their whole experience at Inver Lodge, it is good to know that we succeded.
I hope that we can welcome you back before too long and please make yourself known when you do.
Nicholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochinver
9.9 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
17.8 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
631 reviews
21.3 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
255 reviews
17.8 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#1 of 4 in Garve
167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Davar Guest House
Davar Guest House
#2 of 10 in Lochinver
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inver Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inver Lodge Hotel

Address: Iolaire Road, Lochinver IV27 4LU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lochinver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lochinver
Price Range: £103 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Inver Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star hotel surroundded by magnificent views. 21 Sea facing bedrooms, 2 also with mountain views. Spacious public areas and our Chez Roux restaurant has panoramic views over Lochinver bay and on towards the Isle of Harris. A truly special hotel, dogs are also welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inver Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inver Hotel Lochinver
Inver Lodge Hotel Lochinver, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing