We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really, really lovely”
Review of Inver Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inver Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lochinver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and chose the hotel based on the reviews and the helpful emails we got. It is a very nice hotel indeed and the staff are very good. You can see the excellent training! Especially the very lovely Scottish lady in the dining room (sorry, I don't know her name). Beautiful room with a stag outside eating the grass when we arrived... We went to visit the beach locally off a small local road and the week after it was number 2 beach in the UK in a Telegraph poll - well worth the drive (sorry can't remember the beach name either).
We have lived in Dubai for years and have seen some stunning hotels in the UAE, but we will definitely be going back to this one again. Our thanks to the staff there

Stayed: April 2012
Thank tesoroDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you for your review of you first visit to Inver Lodge, as you say quite a contrast to Dubai in scenery and style of hotel I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure Linda the restaurant manager sees your review. she will be delighted that you enjoyed your time in the restaurant.
The beach that you mentioned is Achmelvich, we are blessed with some wonderful beaches and coastline in north west Sutherland and I hope that we can welcome you back here before too long. Nicholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for Inver Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

Our 4th visit - and we continue to be treated as VIPs. (We aren't)
Met in the car park by the staff. Welcomed at the door by the Manager, Mr Gorton (who is part of the furniture I think now.)
We had the largest Standard size room which has a great walk-in shower, (it's the disabled room)
Lovely relaxing atmosphere. Staff are there to respond to your every whim. Dinner is what you do in the evening here - it's a great experience from meeting in the bar for pre-dinner drinks and canapés, through to coffee in the lounge in front of the fire at the end. Different table every night to vary the view. If they can, they get you onto one of the window tables during your stay for a fine view - of Harris on a good day (see photo)
Always sad to leave a wonderful hotel and a fantastic (best) part of Scotland.

Finally - although we knew the route, we allowed the GPS to take us a different way. Don't bother. Go via Ullapool every time. Is a better and faster route with much more magnificent views than the Bonner Bridge route which is a just plain daft way to go! Hotel should consider advising people of this I think.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterHobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review of your latest stay at Inver Lodge. I am of course delighted to read how much you enjoyed yourself and the new walk in shower in Room Veyatie,
I suppose after 25 years at Inver Lodge I am part of the brick work as well as the furniture, it is always a pleasure to welcome new and old guests to the hotel and I hope to welcome you back before too long. Nicholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights for the start of our honeymoon. We ate in the resturant both nights. The hotel is lovely with a view to match the best in the world. The service and friendliness of the staff was fantastic and could not be faulted. Food and drink was 5 star. It's not cheap but you do get what you pay for. Very highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

We are all delighted that you enjoyed part of your honeymoon with us. Our aim is always to make our guests have a memorable stay and I am pleased that we have done this for you and your husband. We hope to be able to welcome you back before too long. Nicholas Gorton, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

From the time we arrived nothing was too much trouble!! Room 11, Sullivan!! Amazing views!! The room has doors straight outside which made the stay more relaxing with two dogs!!
A really enjoyable stay which made an enjoyable end to a holiday!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzyhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Inver Lodge. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the Suilven Room, as you say ideal for guests with dogs having the patio doors. I hope that we can welcome you back before too long. Nicholas Gorton, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

If you want to spoil yourself and be looked after in stylish comfort and surrounded by spectacular views, do travel the extra (lots of) miles to get here. I love to be greeted in the car park on arrival, it has only ever happened once before and it set the tone for the interest and care that the staff heap upon you. They are an international bunch and this creates a sophistication that combines well with the Scottish staples. DO try whisky on your porridge for instance and eat the freshest of fish and seafood from right on your dockside, served with a continental dash. Ask for the sauna and the snooker rooms as they added an extra veneer of comfort and do sit by the log fire in the lounge. Everything is thought of, even that essential drying room for soggy boots. Do walk to the Man of Stoer for a view not to die for, but to kill for. Only kidding. We went up on the sleeper train from euston and hired a car from inverness and drove past some of the best mountain views ever. I want to go back, soon now. Thank you for our lovely stay.

Room Tip: Any room, draw the blinds if you are shy on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3toedsloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

My self and the team were delighted to read your review of your recent stay at Inver Lodge, and to know how much you enjoyed yourselves. Our aim is to make guest genuinely welcome and to have a memorable stay, we are pleased that we have succeded on this occassion. We look forward to welcoming you back before too long. Nicholas Gorton, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights with breakfast and also dinned in the Chez Roux restaurant for the first night. We had a wonderful time and were welcomed as if old friends by the duty Manager, Nicholas. Our room was spotless and the facilities excellent. We used the sauna which was lovely. We also had our little dog with us and it was great for her too. I really could not fault anything about our stay. All the staff were professional, courteous and extremely pleasant. The views were beautiful. Chez Roux was a delicious experience and we were very satisfied with the quality and quantity of the food served. I wasn't sad to leave as I know we will definitely return in the near future. Ms Medina and Mr Gorton, our sincere thanks for all your assistance.

Room Tip: We had room 7 which was quiet and very comfortable. However, the way that this hotel is designed, I...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank actionmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Inver Lodge. Myself and the team are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your first visit to the hotel and we look forward to welcoming the three of you back to the hotel. Best regards, Nicholas Gorton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed at the The Inver Lodge Hotel for three nights earlier this year and had a most fantastic time. When we arrived the staff came out to greet us with a warm welcome. Throughout the stay nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The manager is great and runs a really good ship. Our room was really spacious, clean and warm. We ate in the restaurant on two nights and the food and service were excellent, from pre-dinner drinks to after dinner sitting by the brilliant log fire. Breakfast is very good and the restaurant has fantastic views over the bay. It is an expensive hotel, but you pay for quality. One night we had a meal at the local pub called Caberfeidh, which has good real ale and a nice restaurant. It was walking distance.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a good sea view - we had a standard room and it was spacious.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonoLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochinver
9.9 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
17.8 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
628 reviews
21.3 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
255 reviews
17.8 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#1 of 4 in Garve
167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Davar Guest House
Davar Guest House
#1 of 10 in Lochinver
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inver Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inver Lodge Hotel

Address: Iolaire Road, Lochinver IV27 4LU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lochinver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lochinver
Price Range: £104 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Inver Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star hotel surroundded by magnificent views. 21 Sea facing bedrooms, 2 also with mountain views. Spacious public areas and our Chez Roux restaurant has panoramic views over Lochinver bay and on towards the Isle of Harris. A truly special hotel, dogs are also welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inver Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inver Hotel Lochinver
Inver Lodge Hotel Lochinver, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing