We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful meal in a beautiful location”
Review of Inver Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inver Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lochinver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We thought this would be a good place for a special meal in the midst of a really relaxing holiday and as it transpired we couldn't have picked a better place. We found we needed to book in advance (4 days) as it is clearly a popular place to eat. The Hotel is modern, externally, but with an elegant, luxurious and airy feel in the main areas and with stunning views over Lochinver and the surrounding coast. We drifted into the bar lounge and were attended promptly by friendly, welcoming and attentive staff, who set just the right tone for our evening meal. We were put at our ease by being taken through that evening's menu at just the right gentle pace and helpful, informative manner. The Restaurant is beautifully arranged with lots of space between tables and views all around through the sliding, glass doors. We all loved our individual starters; comprising classic cheese souffle, Sardines on toast and pike quenelles, which were delicately prepared, delicious and well presented. We all chose the steaks, all cooked differently but all simply superb. To finish Tarte au Citron (another classic), Raspberry Sorbet and selection of ices followed by coffee and chocolates in the Lounge. We couldn't remember enjoying a meal more not least because we found it such a lovely relaxing atmosphere with really pleasant, friendly staff. Its not inexpensive but we thought it was worth every penny and it was one of the highlights of a really great holiday. We will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjd980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you on behalf of Mr Roux and Chef Lee for taking the time to review your meal in Chez Roux at Inver Lodge. We are all delighted that you enjoyed the whole dining experience and hope that we can welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for Inver Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

After a long drive we got a lovely welcome at this hotel. The outside of this hotel doesn't do it justice - inside is great with a welcoming log fire even in July!
Our room (and in fact all of the rooms) overlooked the beautiful harbour and bay, was spacious with a luxurious bathroom. Breakfast was one of the best we had on our tour of the highlands.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kingstonorfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you very much for your appreciated review of your stay at Inver Lodge and I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed yourselves. I hope that we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

First lets get this out of the way, the hotel building is not going to win any achitectural awards. The interior is a sort of old people home, complete with pot purri in the the room, but with a modern contempory bathrom. The views from the restaurants are through white UPVC windows which sort of takes the shine off things.

After a stunning drive up the sight of the building is a bit of a dampner. BUT dont let that put you off first the drive up is a stunner has to be on everyones bucket list.

And secondly food is great. The staff are so nice they even have a cute dog called Ben to welcome you.

Rooms and bathrooms are clean and comfortable. They even have a hotel boat! OK all the other hotel boats I have been on are gin palaces with crews decked out in white shoes and uniform. Here they chuck you a key to a padlock, give you rough directions and you have to drive up a dirt track to try and find the boat on an obscured loch. It was brillaiant next time I will take a picnic on boat ( they prepare a nice picnic basket.)

Takes lots of bug spray as midges are anoying.

Put it this way I just flew up to Inver Lodge from Paris where I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental, if I was given a choice Paris MO or Inver lodge I would take the lodge any time.

I give it 4 stars only because the building design sort of lets it down a bit. But will definitely try and return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Inver Lodge which is much appreciated. I agree the North West Highlands are one of the most unspoilt parts of Europe and should be on everyones "bucket list". I hope that we can welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton and Beinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We visited Inver Lodge Hotel for lunch on the last day of our holiday - and the food was amazing. I even posted a picture on Facebook and said it was 'my holiday highlight'. I had the set course (£16.95) and every course was simply delicious. My husband had the same but with a different main and dessert. The kids had fish and chips and sausages, mash and beans (no beans on the menu but they were happy to accommodate). The hotel isn't to my taste and we sat in the bar area (so no view to admire) but the food more than made up for it. I've finally had some Roux delights and I left a very happy and satisfied (and full) lady.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank GillyB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you on behalf of Chef Lee and the Roux team for taking the time to review your lunch at Inver Lodge. We are all delighted that you and the family enjoyed yourselves and I hope that you will return next time your are in the area. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Nice surprise at the end of the world. After a fantastic scenic drive through the highlands, you will enjoy a modern lodge with stunning views. The rooms are ok, bathrooms newly renovated. TV however rather outdated.
Restaurant and bar are very nice, service is attentive, dinner was good, somwas breakfast. Very fair overall for what you pay.
Can recommend, also due to e very good location. It's worth the trip tp Lochinver.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharkdive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Inver Lodge and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to update the TVs before too long. I hope that we can welcome you back next time you plan a trip to the north west highlands. Kind regards,
Nicholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

It may look ugly from the outside, but this hotel is superb. The service was faultless but also relaxed. The restaurant was excellent - both dinner and breakfast (my breakfast omelette arnold bennett was delicious!). Our room was huge and luxurious. Although not cheap, it was very good value for the quality of our stay.

The area is fabulous to explore and this hotel is without doubt a key part of the enjoyment of staying in this part of Scotland. Whilst there, go walking at the Old Man of Stoer and stop at the sandy beaches on the way there. Then return to this hotel and relax...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jacky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you very much for a very positive feed back which is much appreciated by the whole team. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed Inver Lodge and the area that we are fortunate to live in. I hope that we can welcome you back before too long. Kind regards,
Nicholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Had a lovely lunch on a wet afternoon. Great value and nice choice. Drinks were expensive but the relaxing surroundings made up for it. Lemon tart was delicious and we would certainly recommend inver lodge for a leisurely lunch which is available until 6pm and will try dinner soon

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for writing our first lunch review and Chef Lee and I are delighted to read how much you enjoyed it, please make yourself known when you come for dinner. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochinver
9.9 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
17.8 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
628 reviews
21.3 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
255 reviews
17.8 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#1 of 4 in Garve
167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Davar Guest House
Davar Guest House
#1 of 10 in Lochinver
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inver Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inver Lodge Hotel

Address: Iolaire Road, Lochinver IV27 4LU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lochinver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lochinver
Price Range: £104 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Inver Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star hotel surroundded by magnificent views. 21 Sea facing bedrooms, 2 also with mountain views. Spacious public areas and our Chez Roux restaurant has panoramic views over Lochinver bay and on towards the Isle of Harris. A truly special hotel, dogs are also welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inver Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inver Hotel Lochinver
Inver Lodge Hotel Lochinver, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing