We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where the rainbow ends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Albannach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lochinver
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Albannach
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lochinver
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Where the rainbow ends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at six five star hotels during our trip through the western highlands and this was the best. Unprepossessing at first glance, from the moment you walk through the front door you are transported to the very ideal of the scottish country hotel. Staff was warm, helpful and discreetly present for any inquiry. The location looks like "Lord of the Rings" should have been filmed there with more outdoor activities to pursue than you will have time for. And the fellow guests were a treat, too. One after dinner conversation on Scottish Independence went into the night over coffee and whisky.

We booked two rooms. One was a lovely single room for our daughter, who was thrilled with it, and we had the byre suite which was spacious, private and lovely.

Oh, and the food? Lesley and Colin deserve two, not the one michelin star they already have. It was superb.

Room Tip: Spring for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    16
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
121
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Enjoyed 2 nights in this very comfortable ,very relaxed house.Service 1st class,Susan especially is a charming,skilled and professional hostess.Superb view from sun porch lounge and all bedrooms.Dinner was special,from wonderful canapés with pre dinner drinks to whole menu with several little tasty extras.Lesley and Colin are relaxed hosts and nothing is too much trouble.Felt revived after hectic few weeks of moving home.Set up by the spectacular scenery on the drive across.We will most certainly make a return visit.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms look across bay towards Suilven and Canisp .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill1493301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed three nights, enjoying the amazing food at breakfast and dinner as well as the very interesting local walks. The staff are remarkable, blending warm and personal service with the formal skills that won them a Michelin star. The food is both simple and complex--fascinating local ingredients, put together in a way that made them even better. My favorite was samphire--a remarkable vegetable not available in the US.
There was help for every problem: my husband's back pain after a too-long walk was treated both with an excellent scotch and the gift of an effective back salve from the owner.
I hope we can come back.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We only stayed one night during our trip of the Scottish Highlands, but it was one of the highlights of our trip. Fantastic food - every dish was perfect, with spectacular views of the loch. We stretched our evening out until about 1am ( it was still light!) and no-one seemed to mind. Great service at all times. Our room was perfect , 4 poster bed but with modern, well appointed bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We spent 5 wonderful nights at this luxurious hotel just outside Lochinver in the Highlands of Scotland. We had been guests the previous year. This year we managed to secure 'The Loft', a beautiful room with stunning views of Suilven and Cannisp. The room had a Queen size bed, a luxury bathroom boasting a large walk-in shower, air bath for 2, a double wash hand basin, a bidet and w.c. There was a lovely 'lounge' with TV and DVD player. Outside there was a decked seating area so that we could take advantage of the sunshine.
The restaurant was intimate, the service first class and the food was to die for. A well selected wine list catered for all pockets. We also availed ourselves of the lovely breakfast menu and a couple of times we added in the delicious afternoon tea. Everything was handmade and only the freshest, local produce was used. It is little wonder the restaurant has a Michelin star.
We loved every minute of our stay and the peace and quiet of the area was an added attraction. Would be ideal for honeymooners who enjoy outdoor pursuits or or older couples like ourselves who wanted to get away from it all.

Room Tip: Visit the website to select your room and book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

A magnifiant surprise!As much in the warmth of its welcome,the kindness and simplicité of it's owners and chefs.It's the ideal place to come to oneself ,far from all the cares and noises of the world.We spent 2 nights
there and it was a perpetual enchantment.
Our highland bedroom was marvelous ,from the softness of the sheets,to the sea view and the fabulous breakfasts:what happiness.
The place is magical and what can be said about the personal:considerate,discreet,professional.Not to be forgotten were of course the two chefs Lesley and Colin.Their cuisine is a delight to both the eyes and the tastebuds.All timely cooked to perfection,i congratulate them.
Of all the Michelin star establishments that we have encountered,with Lesley and Colin we wish only one thing:tone able to enjoy the experience again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELISAPRINET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The food and the accommodation were both excellent as advertised but the unexpected pleasure was the attentiveness of the staff. At all times they were pleasant and cheerful and nothing was too much trouble. They even anticipated our needs in lots of little ways, for example by refreshing the milk in our room while we were at dinner. This made us feel very pampered and the staff change the experience from good to great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochinver
0.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
9.9 mi away
Summer Isles Hotel
Summer Isles Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achiltibuie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
21.1 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Davar Guest House
Davar Guest House
#1 of 10 in Lochinver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tigh Na Sith Guest House
Tigh Na Sith Guest House
#2 of 10 in Lochinver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albannach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albannach

Property: The Albannach
Address: Baddidarroch, Lochinver IV27 4LP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lochinver
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lochinver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Albannach Hotel Lochinver
Albannach Hotel Lochinver
The Albannach Lochinver, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing