We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“just perfection”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
howieScot...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“just perfection ”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

we have just returned from a week in this lovely cottage. friendly welcome. great location. walks from the door. cottage well equipped. open fires with fuel supplied was a bonus. few minutes drive to lochinver also easy to walk to as well. for a small town several places to eat that were very nice and local coop. cottage in great location for exploring the area. durness worth the drive. our dog accompanied us and for the first time we went walking up the hill out the back of cottage lead free. meet some deers on our walk. overall would definitely recommend this cottage .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Torbreck gets even better!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was our second visit to Torbreck Croft Cottage and it was even better than our first visit. The weather was again better than at home and we had sun most days and only a few showers. Our feedback from our first visit had been listened to with a new dishwasher installed, new TV and blackout blind in the small twin room where our 2 boys slept.

This is our favourite cottage in a fabulous location. The views from the hill behind the cottage are some of the best in Scotland. The walking and beaches are some of the best in the world.

We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The private but accessible location and the views from the hill behind the house.
Liked least: The water pressure in the shower is not great. A second loo/bathroom would be a great improvement.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy and comfortable cottage!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We enjoyed greatly our stay at Torbreck House. The cottage is well furnished, well equipped, spacious and it gives a sense of coming back home at the end of the day.
We made use of the fireplace and the pvrovided wood, and the free WiFi was also a nice addition!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen
Liked least: Nothing we disliked
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanclaro
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely home away from home”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Torbreck croft house is a real home away from home, obviously the owners have thought about what guests really need for their stay. The kitchen has plenty of utensils, pans, lovely dinner services and sharp knives - something you don't always get in holiday homes. The beds are excellent too. We loved the wood burner & log fire, great to relax in front of with a glass of chilled white! The kids also loved the visits from the friendly dog next door. We would love to come back again, hopefully next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the property
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat G
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing cottage.”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We are just back after staying for the best part of a week in Torbreck Croft House. The cottage is lovely- warm, spacious and very well provided. The art work- paintings, embroideries and pottery are delightful and make this cottage very homely. The cottage is very peaceful; the tranquillity only disturbed by the birds calling during the day and the stags rutting and owls hooting at night! My only issue would be the lack of pressure in the shower, but at least there is a shower and plenty of hot water.
A great base to explore the area and sample the food. I would thoroughly recommend the food at the Inverlodge Hotel for a 'special' meal'. The staff are so welcoming. The Caberfeidh is well worth a visit as is Kylesku Hotel and the Summer Isles Hotel in Achiltibuie for wonderful seafood.
If we return to Lochinver, I would rebook this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The art work!
Liked least: The shower pressure.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Torbreck Croft House. With regards to the shower, the shower is being updated for 2014 so there will be plenty of hot water and plenty of pressure! Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie P
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful holiday, full of fun and relaxation!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We went on a couples holiday, three couples, for a week here, and it was wonderful! Lovely cottage, with excellent scenery. The directions we were given by the owner were very helpful, so the cottage itself was very easy to find. There was lots to do - from a trip into Lochinver for dinner, to going to the Lighthouse and beaches nearby. We were all a bit upset when we had to leave! Would seriously recommend this to anyone looking for a little get away. Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ease of access to other things, such as beaches, Ullapool, etc.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: absolute peace with closeness to beaches and amenities
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing