We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glendarroch House

View of Glendarroch House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Glendarroch House
Front view End view showing extensive patio area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
View of Glendarroch House
Front view
End view showing extensive patio area
Watch the birds and nature whilst having breakfast!
Comfortable leather recliner chairs in living room
Library of 500 books and 100 dvd's if you feel like relaxing
Car access to the door.  No steps to ground floor.  Picture taken before conservatory added
Superbly secluded, feel free to walk off in any direction!
Spacious kitchen diner seats 6.
Even the kitchen has a view! Quality Neff hob/oven and Bosch white goods.
Exceptionally well equipped kitchen
Downstairs kingsize bedroom.  All beds provided with quality Dorma bedlinen.
Upstairs king size bedroom.  All bedrooms have superb views
The iconic peak of Suilven, taken from the door of the house.
Lochinver Bay, taken from the hill behind the house.
The ruins of Ardvreck Castle
An evening view of the Coigach mountains
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stujamwes...
Shipley
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great house in a great location”
Reviewed 21 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely family holiday we had here for a week. The owner Colin is always on hand if needed, and genuinely cares about guests staying in Glendarroch House. The location of the house is great, very close to Lochinver (walkable - 1mile), but at the same time feels very secluded.

Kitchen/diner is great, very well equipped and everything in excellent working order. The complimentary tea/coffee, milk and biscuits were gratefully received on arrival.

Nice reclining sofas/seats, loads of books/DVD's/games, and even Google Chromecast in the TV which is great for sending Netflix/YouTube to the big screen. And a view of Suilven from living room window, as well as from the new conservatory which has been built to a high standard.

Upstairs was also top notch, 2 big comfortable bedrooms with huge skylight windows, good for star gazing from bed on clear nights and/or great views in the morning. The whole house was very heated and insulated, very clean everywhere.

Recommended places to visit would include the walk to Kirkaig Falls (4.5 miles round trip from car park near book shop/café), the walk from Blairmore to Sandwood Bay (9 miles round trip), Achmelvich Beach, Clach Toll beach (with the wonderful small Flossie's Beach Store that sells loads of good stuff), and the drive out to Stoer Lighthouse.

The circular drive round the peninsular from Lochinver, heading north on the B869, through Clach Toll and Stoer, then stopping at Clashnessie to view the waterfall (15mins walk in each direction from village - look for the wooden way marker on the right as you enter the village). Carry on driving through Drumbeg (good shop here), then eventually joining the A894 just south of Kylescu, then turn right back into Lochinver on A837 for final 11 miles. It is a beautiful drive, 90-120 mins in total.

But re: Glendarroch House, there can't be many better places to stay than here in the Lochinver area, highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2018
Stuart, Many thanks for your generous remarks. The North West can be beautiful in the early spring and I see you found lots of low level walks to keep you busy. Hope you can manage back to Glendarroch before too long. Colin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The minute we arrived it felt like home. Its an amazing place to stay, with some of the best views, and books! We have had one of the best holidays and would really love to stay again. Everything was thought of and made as easy as possible. We are mad about this place and recommend it completely and utterly. Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S
1 review
“Wonderful Visit”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We immensely enjoyed our stay at Glendarroch. We visited many places in the area to study our family history - a local family of Munro's who left for Canada during the 1800 clearances. Glendarroch was a very peaceful place to relax with lots of room, peace and quiet, yet still very close to Lochinvar for food, drinks, gas, etc. The home is equipped with high quality appliances, plus everything else we needed. There are also lots of places to hike, and we saw deer almost everyday. Colin and Marion were great hosts. They helped us locate family information and local contacts to help in our research. We would go back again in a minute !

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan Ma...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

A great cottage set amidst spectacular scenery. The cottage is comfortable and warm and facilities are of the highest quality. The area contains a mixture of dramatic mountains and stunning beaches; both of which are within walking distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property
Liked least: The ticks
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeartsinS...
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only the best”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Please promise me that you won't visit as I have wanted to stay here for many years but always found it was already booked until our recent all too brief visit!

There are many excellent rental properties in Assynt and I have experienced dozens over the last 30+ years but this must be one of the best as it ticks so many boxes:-
It is about as secluded as you can get with your own glen to explore and the wilderness that is just beyond; yet it is an easy walk into the village for supplies, restaurants or the pub.
All of the bedrooms and the living room have a stunning view of the iconic Suilven.
It really is a home from home with varied books, games and DVDs to keep all ages happy when indoors.
The owner is very personable without being in any way intrusive, making every effort to ensure you have a perfect stay.
Broadband reception was fine so that younger visitors can maintain that oh so important social networking.
FreeSat TV reception works well so that older visitors can maintain that oh so important latest on TV soaps.
Personally, just watching Suilven in the changing light was far superior to any TV or web based entertainment. That will be my abiding memory.

I won't bore you with the obvious about the area but if you don't already know it the Visitor Centre in the village is a great first stop to find out about walks etc. You should take some time to explore the glen and the surrounding wilderness from the back of the house. There is a whole mini world out there with small hidden glens and canyons and of course the breathtaking views. Also, the path to Ardroe and onto Achmelvich is well worth the effort. It took us about 1 1/2 hours with many, many stops to admire the differing views and take photos.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views of Suilven
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wapster
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
6
people found this review helpful

This was our first time staying in Lochinver despite travelling through many times before.. We weren't disappointed. The location of Glendarroch is simply idyllic, tucked away at the end of a quiet track, yet within walking distance of the village.

The house was cleaned spotlessly on arrival and the welcome tray of coffee / tea & shortbreads was very much appreciated after our 12 hr journey! Glendarroch is a traditional highland house which has been improved over the years and feels like a home, rather than a holiday let! There is a great selection of books and games to browse (if you can tear yourself away from the view). The house is also well supplied with soap, loo roll, dishwasher tablets, kitchen roll, cling film tea & coffee etc rather than the usual 'starter packs' where you then have to go and buy more.

Glendarroch has been in the owners family for generations and it was quite emotional to read about its history in the booklet provided.

The views towards Suilven from the front of the house are stunning and we were lucky enough to be able to sit in the garden on several evenings during our stay. In terms of 'things to do' in the area, we pottered on the beautiful beaches at Achmelvaig & Clashnessie, climbed Suilven, cycled the Lochinver round (40miles of stunning road biking), visited the Geopark at Knockan Crag, had coffee & cakes at Achins bookshop & hiked to the Falls of Kirkaig & Stoer point. The little coffee shop at Drumbeg is well worth visiting, though I won't spoil the surprise by saying any more than that!

All in all if you love the untamed wilderness of this area and traditional accommodation, then you'd be hard pushed to do better than this!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A warm and welcoming home-from-home”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We have been visiting Assynt every year since 1994, and ever since our first visit we have tried to stay at Glendarroch - July 2013 was I think our 15th (?) stay...

Glendarroch is to us the perfect home-from-home; warm,welcoming and well-equipped. Seemingly secluded in its beautiful glen, it is in reality within walking distance of Lochinver's shops, restaurants and pubs.

The Assynt countryside is truly spectacular and Glendarroch is situated in the middle of it all - the wee local walk from Baddiddarrach to Ardroe and onwards to the lovely machair beach at Achmelvich gives wonderful views of the beautiful landscape...longer walks in thelocal countryside are even more impressive - take the long walk to the base of Suilven, then an hour's scramble up to the bealach for a stunning stroll to the top...Wow!!! God's country indeed...

You just cannot beat a lazy sunny afternoon with a glass of wine on the front lawn at Glendarroch...basking in the best view in Scotland...

I'm glad I have already booked our 2014 visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities, views
Liked least: midgies!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing