We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular nature”
Review of Achmelvich Beach

Achmelvich Beach
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Lochinver
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Spectacular nature”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

What a beautiful place! Very much off the beaten path, a winding one lane road for a few miles off the road to Lochinver, you are surrounded by majestic natural sights. Then you get there, park and walk through the dunes to a beach with tropical coloured waters,

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 56monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    36
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“STunning beach off a mad road”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

LOvely sandy beach in pretty cove but a long winding single track road to get to it off another single track road! Good free parking as often you do get in SCotland one of the best things I have found in my travels around the north west.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lorneslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place for kids and nature fans”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We went to see the ocean and show our boys their first beach. They loved it! So did we! The views are wonderful and the natural wonders are terrific!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No change in 30 years”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This beach hasn't changed in 30 years.We were lucky to have a brilliant day for the beach. Photos we took looked like we were in the Maldives. Water was turquoise and not quite as cold as I remembered. Be prepared for a scramble down the rocks to get to it - it may not be suitable for very elderly or people with disabilities to get to.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 17HCW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

2 fabulous clean beaches. To get to the 2nd beach was an enjoyable 10 min walk over a small hill. Access by busy single track rd with passing places

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Achmelvich Beach also viewed

Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Achmelvich Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing