We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Waterloo House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Clachtolls 'Split rock'!
Suilven
Ardvreck castle
River Inver
Achmelvich beach
Lochinver bay
The old man of storr
Northern lights in Lochinver and Assynt. 
Ardvreck castle.
North coast 500 route.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
hazey101
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Had a really good trip to Lochinver. The house is exactly as described, clean, spacious and with really good amenities (including the hot tub).

Beds are comfy (but be aware the downstairs double is only a 4'6" bed so a bit of a tight squeeze these days).

Dealing with the owner was very straight forward.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Hey,
Many thanks for your great review. Really glad you all enjoyed your stay. Come back soon.
Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
Many thanks for your great review, glad you all enjoyed your stay, please come back soon.
Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kerry G
1 review
“Stunning property!”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Well, what can I say about this property that hasn't already been said before? ...

My family and I have visited Lochinver 5 times now and Waterloo House is by far the nicest property we have stayed in. The property has not only been furnished to the highest standard but it has the most amazing views over the harbour! They are truely breathtaking! I think the owner Ben has catered for everyone and everything at this property and I would highly recommend it to everyone, however I would recommend a car for the older generation or anyone who may require a wheelchair as the road up to the property is quite steep.

Should my family and I decide to visit Lochinver for a 6th time, we will definitely be booking this property again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved everything about this property.
Liked least: There was nothing I disliked.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Hi Kerry and family,

Many thanks for your great review! Glad you all enjoyed your stay! Please come and stay again soon.
Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What can I say. For starters, the views are simply breathtaking. The accommodation has been finished to a very high standard in all areas, and this is quite evident with the attention to detail.

Place was clean. Plenty of space for a nice chilled break.
Certainly would be top of my list, if I am venturing up this way again.

Negatives= NONE.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Dear Paul,
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your fantastic review! Please come and visit us again soon.
Regards,
Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliverStu...
Stuttgart
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Fantastic Place you've picked for your house, Ben. And a fantastic house that you've built (well - your dad :-)
We've spent two great weeks in Waterloo House with our families and we enjoyed it to the fullest. Great view, the weather was kind and we made the most of it.
We loved the spacious living room in particular. And naturally the jacuzzi.
Needless to say that we will return :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2016
Oliver and family,
Many thanks for your fantastic review! Really glad you all enjoyed yourselves! Really looking forward to seeing all again.
Many thanks,
Ben :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicky c
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
“relaxing luxuary perfect retreat”
Reviewed 1 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We have just arrived back off a breath taking 7 day break in Lochinver! Well what can we say, this place is absolutely beautiful. Ben left no stone unturned when furnishing this place. We have never been to such a beautiful home. This place has everything you would ever need in a holiday home and more. the views are out of this world and the huge front windows really make it easy to watch the world go by. Such a clean, warm and welcoming home and village. The beds are so comfy we didnt want to get of of them! fabulous gadgets all through the house we really liked the robotic hoover made life so easy! I would recommend this house to everyone thinking of booking Waterloo House up! I promise you will not be dissapointed! I so wish we was back there in the hot tub under the stars! We will be back next year! Thanks Ben you really do have a beautiful holiday home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views from the hotub
Liked least: nothing everything was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2015
Many thanks for your fantastic review Nicki! Please come back soon
Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Nov 2015
Many thanks for your fantastic review. Glad you both enjoyed yourselves in Waterloo, Lochinver and surrounding area! Yes please do come back soon.
Many thanks,
Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;