We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First class luxury accommodation in the magical...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Waterloo House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Clachtolls 'Split rock'!
Suilven
Ardvreck castle
River Inver
Achmelvich beach
Lochinver bay
The old man of storr
Northern lights in Lochinver and Assynt. 
Ardvreck castle.
North coast 500 route.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
SandraS13...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class luxury accommodation in the magical highlands”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have been to this area many times before and will probably continue to do so; it is a magical part of the world. We have, however, never stayed in this sort of luxury before. A big, open, spacious and well equipped house that makes full use of the stunning scenery that we have come to love. The hot tub in the evening overlooking Lochinver harbour and the 5 sisters of Assynt beyond is a truly memorable experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Many thanks Sandra for your great review, glad you all had a great stay, come again soon,
Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstanz, Germany
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jun 2017
Many thanks for your great review, come and visit again soon,
Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Duna109
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“FAbulous stay with stunning views”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The house is superb. Great design with every need considered and catered for. The finishes and spec are great quality. What a view! We sat and watched the fishing boats coming and going with the landscape changing in the background, who needs tv. The dogs loved the lounge floor to ceiling window and watched deer literally walking past it, infact deer were everywhere. Walking distance to Lochinver where we ate at Pete`s, the seafood chowder a must. Suilven you were a b--ch but well worth the climb. The hot tub was greatly appreciated after long walks. Fantastic area for walking and wild swimming. We will definately be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Many thanks for your great review, glad you all enjoyed your stay, come back soon.
Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous house with stunning views and easy access to arguably the most picturesque beach on the planet - Achmelvich.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Many thanks for your review, please come back soon,
Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshOxford...
Oxford, UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect base for exploring beautiful Assynt”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Waterloo House was a perfect base for our family holiday. The location is breathtaking - the view over Lochinver to Suilven changes by the minute, we spent a fair amount of time just gazing out of the window in awe of our surroundings. The house has everything you could possibly need. We have two teenagers - they loved the hot tub, giant tv, Netflix(!); the kitchen has everything you could need - proper big pots and decent knives (so often missing in rented houses!). The house was immaculate when we arrived.

Lochinver is a great base for a Highland holiday. The village has a vibrant community feel (not all Highland villages do sadly); everyone we met was welcoming and friendly. Local shops great - no need to drive up with a boot full of provisions. Restaurants without exception excellent, whether you want a pie at the Lochinver Larder or a michelin star meal at the Albannach. Its all there and within easy walking distance. We ate local langoustines almost every night, the Spar has great selection of locally brewed ales, we were in heaven.

You can also find some great walking routes without getting in your car - 30 mins bracing walk with fantastic views along heather track behind house to Achmelvich; or follow the rapids up the River Inver. Kirkaig Falls, Stoerr lighthouse and dramatic sea cliffs also within short drive from home. We had our bikes and had a couple of great days cycling out to Secret Tea Garden for cake at Drumbeg, road south to Inverpolly is also fantastic cycling route (stop for cake at the Achin bookshop) (We like cake stops.) We hiked up Cansip which is a great climb if Suilvan seems a bit too ambitious and of course the views of Suilven are much better from its neighbour!

We stayed for two weeks which meant that if we were a bit tired out or the weather was bad (only two days were really bad) we were happy to stay at home lounging around. Waterloo House was such a beautiful light airy space to share on these days playing board games, reading, writing. It was a really special time together - you couldn't fail to have a brilliant time in this magical corner of the world.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2017
What a fantastic review! Many thanks indeed! So glad you all had a great time in Waterloo house, lochinver and assynt. Please do come back soon, more mountains to conquer :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pault5692
1 review
“The best rental house by far”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was our 4th stay at Waterloo House and as always. It never fails to impress with its excellent facilities and stunning location. The new hot tub is excellent. Till next time.....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2017
Thanks for your great review Paul! Glad you all enjoyed your stay! Look forward to having you all stay again soon.
Many thanks,
Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegativeH...
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely house, glorious views, fabulous hot tub!”
Reviewed 6 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This house is really lovely , very clean , very spacious but the most important things are the superb views and the brilliant hot tub...perfect after a day in the hills.

From the house we walked to Achmelvic beach, and into Loch Inver to do the River Inver loop.

There are so many hills to climb in this area we will definitely be back and would stay at this house again.

In the village we tried the pie shop, bunkhouse and peets, all good.

Also went up to Kylesku, the hotel was really nice, good food and gin!

Ben, owner, was very friendly via email. We will visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2017
Many thanks for your fantastic review, so glad you enjoyed your stay, come and visit again soon.
Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing