We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable accomodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochinver
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cruachan Guest House
Ranked #9 of 10 Lochinver B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We stayed in what another review describes as the downstairs twin.
Felt it was not really up to a 4 star rating, although it was clean and functional.
It just did not have the bright roomy open perspective of our previous 4 star B&B in Ullapool (Tamarin). View was of the next door's rather rotting doorway.
Lots of bits of building material round the grounds.
Stoer is a bit remote and barren for us (we were there to climb Stoer sea stack) but I see others have found it interesting.
We will be returning to climb there but next time we will stay in Ullapool and do the final drive to Stoer on the day.
The owner was helpful when we had problems with our climbing guide.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenTripUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Cruachan Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2011

What a delight to have found this B&B - Dennis and Maggie were extremmely welcoming and perfect hosts. Presentation of the property was very well done, the lovely little lounge with open fire, the room we stayed in was a good size, clean and crisp decor and clean. We drove to Lochinver for dinner in The Caberfeidh which was lovely - Ben had Mussels and I had Scallops and black pudding. Delicious. However, I must say the breakfast the next morning was simply the best we had on holiday! Our only disappointment was that we didn't stay more than one night!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linzi60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Clean, welcoming and comfortable guest house with friendly helpful hosts. Will definately be back when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJMACLLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

It must be at least at least 10 years since I stayed in any B&B, I thought them good then but standards have either risen considerably or this guest house is an jewel. Any criticism could only be due to the genre or the remoteness of the location. For it is remote, but peaceful and quiet in December.
The accommodation was up there with the 3 star hotels but the style and standards of the decoration more like a boutique 4 star hotel. We were welcomed with the offer of a cup of tea and at dinner had a choice, the food was great with a choice at each course but understandably they wanted notice of your dinner choice asap.
Don't plan to stroll out to the pub in the evening I think it was 7 miles to the nearest one. During the day there was no restriction on access to the rooms but you wouldn't want to go all the way to this magnificent scenery and stay in your room.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_NYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Stayed with another three in mid June 2010 room was well above average, and our host was exceptional. Food was restuarant standard, a memorable visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DriverScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Cruachan Lodge is one of the most tranquil and relaxing places that my Wife and i have stayed in. Set in beautiful Assynt - with the Mountains of Suilvan, Canisp, Quinaig etc on your doorstep - you also have the stunning views of Stoer Point and fantastic beaches of Clachtoll and Achmelvich only a short drive away. Dennis and Maggie were the perfect hosts. Charming and welcoming from beginning to end - and oh those breakfasts!! Our room was very comfortable and we enjoyed the peace and quiet of the lovely sitting room on a particulary wet July afternoon. We were very sad to leave on our last day and hope to go back to Cruachan Lodge very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlaneMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We found the welcome entirely fitting with the atmosphere of the house. Accommodation was everything expected from website and breakfast and dinner an excellent start and finish to the day. It was clear tht this was a real family home

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HullVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochinver
5.5 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
389 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Bakery B&B
The Old Bakery B&B
#8 of 10 in Lochinver
7 reviews
5.0 mi away
Davar Guest House
Davar Guest House
#1 of 10 in Lochinver
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
B&B Philosophy
B&B Philosophy
#1 of 1 in Stoer
36 reviews
5.3 mi away
Park House B & B
Park House B & B
#6 of 10 in Lochinver
42 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mountview
Mountview
#1 of 5 in Lochinver
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruachan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruachan Guest House

Address: Stoer, Lochinver IV27 4JE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lochinver
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lochinver
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cruachan Hotel Lochinver
Cruachan Guest House Lochinver, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing