We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced dessert”
Review of Lochinver Larder

Lochinver Larder
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Lochinver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Award winning Pie Shop,Restaurant and Coffee Shop
Reviewed 12 October 2018

2nd visit. Very salty fish cake. Not sure if they did tasting before making them. Almost thought of letting them know but didn't. It was disappointing.
My son had a dessert pie- he asked what we wanted it with. Ice cream, custard or cream? He choose one, thinking it comes with it naturally.
I did not read the menu properly, and they charged £1.10 extra, where the pie already costs £6.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maria y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2018

I had two pies at the Lochinver Larder, one I ate there and one I took with me for later. They were yummy, I have to say, but when I drove away I realised I had just spent approximately 10 Australian dollars for each pie. Yes, they were good, but wowdy, so much money for a pie.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

Being Spanish I can say the scallops and langostines were so good, luckily that I could eat them fresh before they were shipped to Spain! The best food in Scotland I’ve had. We enjoyed so much the pies that I took the mail order form back with me.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank pura l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

Flying visit Into Lochinver just to pick up some of the well known pies on our way round the NC500.

Savoury and sweet pies available. We bought a mixture. Around £5 a piece which isn’t cheap but hey, when in Rome! Plus, fillings are packed in. The pies are weighty!

I can absolutely recommend. Grab some for a picnic. The venison and cranberry pie is delicious. Chicken, leek and mushroom is a classic. Apple pies available too!

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank msg84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

Haggis started was delicious, best one throughout my whole NC500 trip. Steak & ale pie was lovely & the mashed potatoes were a heart attack on a plate with the amount of butter & cream in it but it was heavenly & not a single lump.
The only negative thing to say is that it closed very early - 5:30pm but maybe this was a good thing as I was still stuffed at 9!

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank SarahB14096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lochinver Larder also viewed

Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland
Lairg, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Lochinver Larder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing