We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Stop Over”
Review of Ben Loyal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tongue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Touring Scotland one night stop over. Hotel in the middle of nowhere rooms to the rear have fantastic views. Plenty of car parking. Rooms dated but clean and comfortable. Happy helpful staff. Lovely food in the evening and good breakfast. Worth a visit if in the area.

Room Tip: rear rooms have the views but cost extra
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floridadream04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Ben Loyal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here many times. The rooms are not spacious but most have fab views of Ben Loyal. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is a good lounge area and a public bar. The food is excellent. We will come back again!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pinna47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

It's an authentic hotel at the very North part of Scotland, where we stayed a couple of nights.
The room was in the main building and facing the old Castle. Even if they were rustic, our rooms were well equipped, quiet & comfortable.
Convenient Pub within the hotel & a nice lounge to relax and enjoy an evening whisky !
The restaurant room was just in front of the parking & a little bit austere, but the food was good & the staff friendly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Brice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very friendly country hotel. The view from our room was fantastic, overlooking the fields, loch and castle Barraich. At dusk and dawn red deer were roaming in the fields below. Excellent food and very friendly staff. There is a seperate lounge for guests if you prefer not to be in the bar/pub side.
In the morning we suffered from a village power outage. The staff did what they could to nevertheless prepare an improvised warm breakfast, on a barbecue.

A great hotel as a base to visit the wonderful surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were staying in Tongue just down the road for one night and had a bar meal here.
Delicious and good portions , value for money .
Busy with good service and friendly staff and very clean .
Fabulous views to enjoy .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TonyDodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were a mixed party of seven, two older couples, one single and young couple with baby. Our room was very nice with lovely view, although the bathroom was a bit dated it was spotlessly clean with nice toiletries. Good tea tray. Unfortunately the village had a power cut on our first morning and therefore kitchen unable to cook breakfasts, but they improvised and managed some eggs and bacon on the BBQ. The next breakfast was very nice. Both evening meals were excellent. Staff very welcoming and helpful, nothing too much trouble. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed last weekend told we had Room 6 on Friday night room small but clean but the view was defo worth the extra cost amazing it was surreal. Saturday night Room 10 massive room largest en-suite ever seen in hotel and again very clean. Staff all very friendly food was very good especially breakfast best yet in any hotel stay.. only disappointment was power cut on the Sunday morning (not a complaint as no ones fault) meant no full breakfast but the eggs and bacon done on the BBQ was very good. Would recommend to anyone to stay here...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongue
0.1 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
357 reviews
7.8 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
340 reviews
18.5 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Overscaig House Hotel
15.8 mi away
Strathy Inn
Strathy Inn
#2 of 2 in Strathy
112 reviews
8.5 mi away
Farr Bay Inn
Farr Bay Inn
#2 of 3 in Bettyhill
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Loyal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Loyal Hotel

Address: Main Street, Tongue IV27 4XE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Tongue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tongue
Price Range: £86 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Loyal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, family run hotel with magnificent views of the Kyle of Tongue and Ben Loyal from our rooms and restaurant. Fresh local seafood is available daily and all bedrooms are en-suite. A small Highland hotel with big Highland hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ben Loyal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ben Loyal
Ben Loyal Tongue
Ben Loyal Hotel Tongue, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing