We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcome return”
Review of Borgie Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tongue
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Borgie Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tongue
Reviewed 22 August 2013

we stayed here in june 2011 what a transformation . great staff good value for money nothing was to much trouble.well done jimmy and the rest of his team.will be hopefully returning again.
next year .two course menu well worth the cost.lovely little gem in beautiful surroundings keep it up.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlandersutherland, Manager at Borgie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Many thanks for your kind words, All the hard work is paying off, still a long way to go

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

A year on from our last visit, the hotel has gone through significant upgrades. Many areas of the hotel have been rejuvenated but the place has not lost its character - well done Jimmy and the team. The menu is more extensive and the local scallops were cooked / shown the pan to perfection. The The full Scottish Breakfast is still worth the admission fee alone. We'll definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yolie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlandersutherland, Manager at Borgie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Many thanks for your kind words on all our hard work from myself & my team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

After traveling all day by motorbike it was a pleasant surprise to find how warm and friendly the staff were. When using the Bar there was a lovely variety of guests and locals some of which we recognised on the approach through the village as some nodded and smiled as we drove through the atmosphere was relaxing and welcoming. The food was lovely the restaurant looked newly refurbished. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BFAR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmySutherlandu_k, Manager at Borgie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for your very kind words, hope to see you in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel for five days in July/August. We had a wonderful time and the staff could not have been more helpful. The breakfasts were enormous and extremely well freshly cooked and presented. We fished on three days and Jimmy, the manager was extremely helpful. He also cooks and the evening meals were delicious. One can eat from a very reasonable bar menu or from the restaurant menu. Prices were good and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were comfortable though not modern. The area around is beautiful and full of interest. We can thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlandersutherland, Manager at Borgie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank You for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The Crofters' bar at the Borgie Lodge is a classic wee Tennents or Best kind of pub. There's tons of atmosphere, great service, a roaring stove and always people dropping in for a quick half and half on the way home or a pub dinner. Unfortunately we didn't have food but what we saw at the other tables looked great. The pub also served as the local offy and when I asked about a take out bottle of red, the manager took me through to the wine cupboard, let me choose one and then gave me a great price. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmySutherlandu_k, Manager at Borgie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Many thanks for your find words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

A mid-winter late booking was no problem for this hotel which is quite remote and in a gorgeous part of Northern Scotland. The manager and Chef, Jimmy, took over the running of Borgie Lodge eight months ago and looks to be doing a very good job. Jimmy was so warm, friendly and helpful, as were the rest of his staff. We felt like royalty and were wowed by his amazing skills in the kitchen - our meals would put many high class restaurants to shame. The winter period will see some renovation going on and I'm sure that Jimmy and his team will make a super job of it. The 'Crofter's Bar' is a great place to sit by a roaring log fire and chat to David, who runs the bar, and other locals who are all very friendly and caring.
I really hope it's not too long before we're back....must try the fishing!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlandersutherland, Manager at Borgie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank You for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

A great traditional Scottish hotel and a friendly, cosy home away from home. Good food including an epic (quantity and quality) breakfast that meant I didn't need to eat again until the evening and a very nice char grilled steak available on the evening menu! Jimmy and all his staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Free wifi available in a few rooms downstairs so you can sit by the open fire while checking the weather. Another review used the phrase "remote outpost" and I guess that says it all - when you cross the border into Scotland keep driving north for another 6 hours and you'll find this magic little place. Great value - I'll be returning next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yolie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlandersutherland, Manager at Borgie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words, hope to see you again

Jimmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongue
2.3 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
357 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
381 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
218 reviews
23.1 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
312 reviews
3 mi away
Farr Bay Inn
Farr Bay Inn
#2 of 3 in Bettyhill
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgie Lodge

Address: Skerray, Tongue KW14 7TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Tongue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tongue
Price Range: £40 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Skerray, Borgie and Bettyhill, the Borgie Lodge Hotel lies in a quiet secluded Highland glen on the banks of the beautiful River Borgie in North West Sutherland. Borgie Lodge, Tongue, Caithness and SutherlandBorgie Lodge North West Sutherland represents one of the last great scenic secrets of Europe. It is a vast wilderness of extraordinary mountains which stand as isolated islands in an ocean of ancient rock, moorland and heather-clad hill. It is where you will find the highest sea cliffs, the highest waterfalls, and many other extremes of the natural world. But most importantly, it is a land where you can find total freedom.We offer a wide range of outdoor pursuits which can all be pre-booked for your holiday to start as soon as you arrive. As your time in this wonderful wilderness is probably limited we can take care of booking ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borgie Lodge Tongue, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing