We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Craggan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tongue
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Craggan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tongue
East Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

This place was a fantastic little hotel, with a great restaurant. the food was class A, My wife had the chicken and myself had the seafood dishes & not one complaint as it was delivered in style.We had a seaward view which was superb over looking the bay. This place is a little gem of a hotel & would visit again if up in the area again. It gets 10 out of 10 for cleanliness and friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: room facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    32
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
19
60
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

Fantastic little well run hotel in Melness. Foods great, staff are very friendly and rooms really clean. Overall very pleasant nights stay, would definitely stay here again when exploring the north coast.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Stopped off for a meal it was lovely food..good selection of snacks and standard range of bar meals. Hubby had fish and chips really well cooked, fresh produce (and gorgeous 'proper' chips), I had a burger and chips good quality meat, tasty salad and coleslaw, very generous portions and good value for money. The staff were friendly and efficient. Would deffo recommend, also they were serving meals all day. We had lovely coffees to finish..what a great wee find.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotslass71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnolsdwick
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

we reacently stayed at the craggan for a long weekend with friends i just want to thank Kate and all the staff for a wonderful stay. the location is beautiful the food was great the rooms clean yes we ahd to share a bathroom but it did not retracked from a lovely weekend. when we come up this way again we will stay with kate at the craggan.and good luck to florantina and yodal with the baby due in september.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We recently visited Scotland & stayed at The Craggan Hotel for 5 nights. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival & the staff were polite, professional & helpful. The owner had gone out of her way to make sure our toddler was comfortable. The food was exceptionally good & beautifully presented. We shared a bathroom but that didn't cause any problems. The hotel & rooms were kept clean & warm. I would recommend The Craggan Hotel to anyone wanting to visit or tour the North coast. There are plenty of spectacular sights to see, the area has plenty of history & the people were very welcoming! We shall return :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoHolmes03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of our recent road trip around scotland. After a long drive from Dornoch we arrived a little after 5pm in the pitch dark.
We entered the bar area of the hotel and were greeted by a member of staff, i believe his name was Alex. He was very welcoming and showed us to our room (room 4).
The room wasn't luxurious but very cosy with 2 single beds & plenty of room for us to fit the travel cot. None of the rooms are en suite and the shared bathroom was just down the hall. We quickly settled in and headed downstairs to enquire about dinner. We were advised we could sit in the bar or the restaurant and opted for the bar as it seemed comfy and diners were already in there. Having our 14month old daughter there wasn't an issue and Alex was great with her. We ordered 2 mains, the cheese plate for dessert & some drinks. When the food arrived it was first class and we were happy to be having our first freshly prepared meal in days. We would have loved to have stayed in the bar all night as the atmosphere was friendly and some locals had even come in but unfortunatly with a bored toddler we had to confine ourselves to our room watching tv. Unfortunatly we seemed to be incompentent and couldn't get it off STV but meant we weren't fighting over what to watch.
We settled into bed and had the best night sleep ever. The place is so quiet & relaxing.
Before retiring to our room the night before, we had been asked for our breakfast order & time. So it was just a case of arriving in the restaurant and taking a seat. We werent asked if we'd like tea or coffee and a pot of coffee was brought to the table but no sign of tea which was a bit disappointing but i probably should have asked.
Having arrived at night we didn't see the spectacular view this hotel offers. We were quick to finish our food and head outside to explore. I imagine in the summer this hotel is amazing. I noticed they had an outdoor seating area as well.
The staff all seemed very nice and the hotel was warm & welcoming. If i could brave the drive again, i'd stay here again!
Only downside really is the shared bathroom & i was a bit nervous to have a shower incase anyone else wanted in.

Room Tip: Only 4 bedrooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

After driving all day from Skye, we arrived at this outpost of comfort and gourmet food and were given a room where we could see the Orkney Islands through the passing rain squalls. There are only four rooms with a shared bathroom which seems to work well. Even though it was midweek, the dining room was busy with guests and locals.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongue
3.0 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
18.4 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
12.1 mi away
Mackay's Rooms
Mackay's Rooms
#1 of 11 in Durness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craggan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craggan Hotel

Property: The Craggan Hotel
Address: Melness | Lairg, Sutherland, Tongue IV27 4YP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Tongue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tongue
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Craggan Hotel Tongue
The Craggan Hotel Tongue, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing