We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Views”

Plockton Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Plockton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Loved this tiny restaurant within the hotel where we visited for a light lunch. The Fish Soup was absolutely delicious and I would truly love the recipe for this one. Everyone else was delighted with their choices and it was very well worth the visit. The view across the road out to the sea and nearby islands was beautiful and was where we headed for next for a breath of fresh air and the stunning views. Great wee pub atmosphere in the next room too, where you placed and paid for your order. Very busy place and was nice to see they have a whole wall dedicated to charity where you place a small coin within the cavities of the stone and it is collected annually and given to charity. Great idea and saves a lot on decoration!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tylionel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    155
    60
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great food, value and service.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We visited plockton for the day and the other restaurants were rather pricey compared to this one. Really nice traditional feel and lovely view. I had delicious chicken and ham pie which was good size and had lots of tasty meat in it. Served with new potatoes it was great value. Husband had fish in oatmeal and thoroughly enjoyed it. Meals and drinks came to less than £20 and everyone was very friendly and chatty. I just don't understand the tripadvisor ghouls who seem to go out of their way to find something to complain about in restaurants our hotels.

Helpful?
Thank kenmlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great pub, lovely view”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great location overlooking the bay. Lovely bear garden on the waters edge. Excellent choice of real ales. We didn't eat here as we thought it a little expensive and not as much choice on the menu as at the Pockton Inn. If you want to eat here in the evening, you'd be wise to book to ensure a table.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClaretwithBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely average!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The location is fantastic in a picturesque village with some of the best scenery i've ever been blessed to see and I live in Perthshire which takes some beating.
The steak and ale pie had chunks of braised steak and some clear liquor which may have been beer but definately not a rich sauce or gravy as I was expecting. The pie crust was a white disc of some kind of shortcrust pastry -not home made- and more like a water biscuit than a pie crust.
The lasagne was described as home made and I believe them, Brake brothers frozen foods do it much better. The garlic bread accompanying the lasagne was dreadful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerthshireChippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
606 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“The Setting makes it”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

What a pretty place ! Billed as the prettiest place in Scotland. Cottages with gardens by the lake overlooking the castle. The place had been built by the laird. We wandered down the road and round the little harbour. Then we had haddock soup at the local pub.
But don't rely on taxi's - they have to come from Kyle if they come at all. Cadge a lift!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Incartek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plockton Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
 
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
 
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
Broadford, Isle of Skye
 

Been to Plockton Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing