We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Tigh Arran B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tigh Arran B&B
Ranked #2 of 14 Plockton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have just had a fantastic short break staying at this B&B. It is situated in wonderful countryside with outstanding views. We felt very comfortable here, lovely rooms, great breakfast and superb hospitality from Mary and Iain. They are lovely people and run a very,very nice place. I would recommend a stay here without hesitation! When we visit this region again, we will be booking here. Thanks to Mary and Iain for making this trip such a good one. Dave and Wendy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
106
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for one night for work, would come back for a holiday anytime. Very comfy bed and a great breakfast in the morning. Idyllic location with the highland coos right outside. Thanks to Mary and Ian!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie_Os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast which is not to be missed. Very easy to find with outstanding views,comfort and hospitality. Iain and Mary made us feel so welcome and treated us so well. We have stayed in several places locally and this is definitely one of the best.Breakfast was delicious too. Merits 5 stars! We will definitely return. Thanks to Iain and Mary for making our stay so enjoyable. Rosanna and Stephen

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Felicina2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
753 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Mary Iain and isabella made us very comfortable in their lovely B & B. Our room had lovely views across to Skye. It was immaculately clean and comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful, expertly served by Isabella - thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgerton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

As virtually all other reviewers indicate, Tigh Arran B&B and its hosts—Mary and Lain Dobson—are very special! Such reviews led me to take the scenic train from Inverness to Duirinish at the end of April, 2013 for a stay with them. I had planned for one night but was so charmed by their hospitality, the comfort of the second floor suite, and the gorgeous view of the Isle of Skye that I decided to spend another night. I would have extended the stay further had not other plans been made.

Like the Beeton's, I had to rely on public transportation and was both surprised and pleased when Mary, Lain, and his visiting father kindly facilitated my getting around on three separate occasions. Their hospitality was simply impeccable.

As several people have indicated, Duirinish is a charming little village that offers nice walks to see farm animals and picturesque Plockton. It also offers easy access to the buses in Kyle of Lochalsh that offer convenient transportation to Isle of Skye, Portree, the beautiful Eilean Donan Castle in Dornie, and the gorgeous drive to Fort William. Those with cars, motorcycle and/or bicycle transportation options will not find a better base for assorted adventures! With luck, I'll find a way to utilize one of those options when I return sometime soon.

In any case, I encourage all those reading this review to book the reasonably price Tigh Arran B&B at their earliest opportunity!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StevenL-Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was our second stay at Tigh Arran, after the first visit we knew we had to come back. Mary, Iain and Isabella made us feel so at home again, they go out of their way to help with every little thing. Duirinish is such a picturesque wee village, be sure to stop in at Vera's little shop to see and purchase her wonderful local paintings and cards etc. It's only a few miles to Plockton, which has several great restaurants, The Plockton Inn was our favorite. We had to rely on public transportation, and the train stops at Duirinish, with taxi service to and from Plockton and Kyle of Lochalsh. Be aware that taxi service is not always available though certain evenings, so plan ahead.
Our room was spacious & clean, beds comfy, with a large ensuite bathroom. The view from our room across to the Isle of Skye and the Cuillins was awesome. Our first morning at breakfast -always a lovely meal-the highland coos were strolling past the B&B and meandering through the village.
We definitely recommend Tigh Arran, you will not be disappointed.

Helen and Siobhan Beeton

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siobhan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunmow, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed for one night whilst touring Scotland. A beautiful place! Iain and Mary are wonderful hosts.
The views of Skye and the countryside are stunning. Highland cattle wandering around add even more beauty yo this little village.
Breakfast was just amazing, kept us going all day.
Only 10 mins from Plockton, and a lovely place to stay.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Our room was the family room with en-suite. I big bed and 1 small. Amazing views. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
1.9 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
368 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
567 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
211 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
344 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hartfield House Applecross
Hartfield House Applecross
#1 of 2 in Applecross
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh Arran B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Arran B&B

Property: Tigh Arran B&B
Address: Duirnish, Plockton IV40 8BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Plockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh-Arran is a bed and breakfast with modern, spacious en-suite rooms situated near Plockton in the northwest highlands of Scotland in the picturesque crofting village of Duirinish. With an elevated position it has a remarkable panoramic view of the sound of Raasay, of course the Isle of Skye and its world famous cuillin mountain range. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tigh Arran B&B Plockton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing