We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly modern B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tigh Arran B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tigh Arran B&B
Ranked #2 of 14 Plockton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Friendly modern B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a friendly modern bed and breakfast well situated between Plockton and Kyle of Lochalsh. There's a comfortable guest lounge with awesome views across to Skye, and the ground floor room we stayed in was large, clean and well equipped. Breakfast (order the night before) is efficiently timed and served. Like many modern houses, the walls are a bit thin, and perhaps an informal curfew might prevent guests disturbing each other late into the evening. Don't miss the playful dog!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank railbuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
105
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The best Bed and Breakfast I've even been to. Rooms, food, owners - everything was nice. But the view from the window during the whole night was unforgettable! The nights here are not dark at all, so you can enjoy the view all the time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natali_ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night but found it very comfortable. We were made very welcome and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone. The house is actually located in a small village about 2 miles from Plockton called Duirinish which is famous for highland cows grazing in the common ground in the middle of the village, a real photo opportunity. Our room had a clear view of the Cuillins in Skye and they were absolutely clear for the duration of our stay. The breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the owner. If eating out in Plockton I would advise always booking ahead as this is a very busy village with extremely popular restaurants.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Turrysagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

B&B is located in a small town very close to Plockton. We arrived without dinner reservations and the first thing Iain did was call into town and hook us up with a table at a lovely restaurant. We received a warm welcome, and I got a kick out of knowing the fuzzy highland cows out roaming the area actually belonged to the Dobson's! Got a few pics of these guys. haha. Great easygoing B&B, which provided us with everything we needed. Thanks for the hospitality. We had a great visit. Perfect location for starting the next morning on the Wester Ross scenic drive! Beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a very convenient place to stay for touring this part of the North West Highlands. For example you can take in the spectacular drive to Applecross, pop over the bridge to Skye (although a stay there is recommended in order to do the island justice), visit Eilean Donan Castle or, if you want a break from driving / hiking take the beautiful rail journey from Kyle of Lochalsh to Inverness - effectively a day's trip but well worth it.

Tigh Arran is in the picturesque village of Duirinish with great views to Skye and the Cuillin mountains. The equally picturesque sea loch village of nearby Plockton offers several opportunities for dinner. In particular the Plockton Inn where twice a week (Tuesday & Thursday) customers are entertained by excellent local folk musicians.

Tigh Arran is a very comfortable b&b and hosts Mary and Ian equally hospitable. We had the upstairs double room with its lovely views to Skye and Raasay. It was very spacious with plenty of room to spread our two rather large cases! The equally spacious ensuite bathroom had a separate bath and shower.

Mary cooked an excellent traditional Scottish breakfast which we had round a communal table shared with other guests. However there was little flexibility on time - breakfast was at 8.30 - it didn't bother us but it may some. Also don't expect any 'little extras'. This is what I would describe as a 'no frills' b&b eg no buffet table with cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, etc displayed. But the price reflects this (£30 per person per night).

So long as you're not expecting more you won't be disappointed, this is an excellent b&b for its place in the b&b market.

Room Tip: Great views from the spacious upstairs double
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TruckyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This B&B is in a beautiful setting, on a hillside above a picturesque little village. The views of the sea and Skye are lovely, and the room we stayed in was large and comfortable, with a very nice ensuite. There is a very pleasant guest lounge and dining area as well. We were greeted by Iain and Isabella, who were warm and friendly, and Iain even called for dinner reservations in Plockton for us. Mary helped us with directions just before we left to get us where we needed to go next. The dogs (Bonnie and Chloe, if I’m remembering correctly) were friendly and playful. Mary served delicious breakfasts, and all in all, we had a wonderful stay and recommend Tigh Arran.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

From the moment we drove up to the b&b we thought we had made a great choice. With the lovely welcome from hosts Ian, Mary, Isabella and the dogs. Room was lovely and had a magnificent view over to Raasay and Skye. Definitely would recommend this for any stay in the West Highlands.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
1.9 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
3.2 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hartfield House Applecross
Hartfield House Applecross
#1 of 2 in Applecross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh Arran B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Arran B&B

Property: Tigh Arran B&B
Address: Duirnish, Plockton IV40 8BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Plockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh-Arran is a bed and breakfast with modern, spacious en-suite rooms situated near Plockton in the northwest highlands of Scotland in the picturesque crofting village of Duirinish. With an elevated position it has a remarkable panoramic view of the sound of Raasay, of course the Isle of Skye and its world famous cuillin mountain range. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tigh Arran B&B Plockton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing