We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely trip in search of seals”

Plockton Seal Trips
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Plockton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nivå, Frederiksborg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely trip in search of seals”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We went to the main pier in Plockton to go out on a seal trip. The loch was very calm and no wind or rain. We had a beautiful round trip and saw lots of mountains and a lot of seals. We had great fun too with Captain Calum and his crew member. When we one day return to Plockton, we will take another ride! Highly recommended :-)

Helpful?
Thank Birgit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    32
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“must do in Plockton”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Callum and Joy were brilliant. Even if we had seen no wildlife (we did - lots - seals and a wide variety of sea birds) the very reasonable fee was worth it for the Plockton Bay cruise to listen to Callum's patter and daft jokes. A real character, he is delightful and fun, a man seemingly happy in his work - so makes it most enjoyable for the passengers. Joy efficiently make coffee, poured drinks and told us even more about the area, and explaining enthusiastically about the different birds and animals we saw. An absolute must do for anyone going to Plockton!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandEartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchtermuchty
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Wildlife Trip”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Very good boat with plenty room and a little bar for drinks coffee etc. Callum is quite a character and has great knowledge of the area. A decent number of seals and various sea birds were on display. This trip is really good value for money.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MuchtyMoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great fun :)”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

well I always love a boat trip :)...and the scenery was amazing though there were a few showers...Callum and his first mate were good fun :)...and we did see a small group of seals too :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pauline333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip.”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We picked a perfect day for Callum's boat trip. The sun was shining, the rain had stopped and the seals were out basking in the sunshine. The views from the boat are just stunning, we could have ridden around all day just taking photos and soaking up the beautiful scenery. Callum gave an entertaining commentary and was definitely "in the money" after finding so many seals on the islands! His claim is that you don't pay if you don't see any seals but we certainly did. It was a real thrill to see so many just chilling out on the rocks. Callum invited the children to "drive" his boat and gave them all a lolly too, my two girls thoroughly enjoyed the trip and were desperate to go crabbing after seeing so many large crabs (and starfish) in the clear water around the shores. When you go into the shop to buy your tickets, step outside in the road and look up at Callum's back garden, he has some rather random and unusual garden ornaments scattered around! There are some lovely knick-knacks and souvenirs in the shop too. Callum's seal trip is a definite MUST-DO if you are in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JulesXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plockton Seal Trips also viewed

Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 
Applecross, Ross and Cromarty
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Plockton Seal Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing