We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MacKenzie's B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmacara Hotel(Balmacara)
US$197
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plockton Inn(Plockton)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plockton Hotel(Plockton)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dunollie Hotel(Broadford)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Broadford Hotel(Broadford)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kintail Lodge(Shiel Bridge)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tigh an Eilean(Shieldaig)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
64
9
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
9
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the harbourlovely placejanemackenziesbreakfasthighlands
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I had a basic single with shared bathroom but was for one night only.The room was clean with one of the most comfortable beds I've had. Nice touches are a choc. wafer biscuit and a large scotch whisky, (sorry but I don't drink whisky) but nice. The bathroom/ toilet was nice with a good shower over. I left early to do the long (7hr) drive home so didn't have the breakfast. Jane made me a sausage & a bacon role to keep me going & they were delicious. But waking up to that harbour view is beautiful rain or sunshine. You lucky people of Plockton.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Lovely b&b, nice helpful host, very good breakfast. We had the double room with ensuite and it was a comfortable room with a good bathroom. Along with a good selection of teas, coffee, biscuits etc was a generous dram for before bed which was a nice touch and got our holiday in the Scottish highlands off to an appropriate start!

Plockton is a lovely place and we look forward to visiting again one day.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Craig_hicks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

It was the 4th time we visited Plockton and we have stayed with Jane and Calum twice - and we would like to return again and again. The B&B is situated on the water front in Plockton. The house is a nice, little townhouse. We had a warm welcome by Jane and we had "our" room again. It has a nice big bed, very comfortable. The bathroom is rather small, but very comfortable and well equipped with fine toiletries. From the window there is the most stunning view over the loch.
There were coffee and tea, and tasty biscuits and a nice wee dram of whisky.
I must not forget to tell about breakfast, it is just fabulous, full Scottish or Jane's most delicate waffles, uhmmm!
We have had many a chat with both Jane and Calum during breakfast and with the other guests of course!
We will really want to go back to our favourite village and our favourite B&B - and we recommend you to do the same :-)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Birgit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My sister and I stayed here for just one night ..it is a beautiful house, with a lot of character...felt very much like being at home :) Jane is an excellent hostess :)...we had the most amazing breakfast :)...and it was lovely to have it in the open plan kitchen..sharing the table with other guests was really nice..sharing travel stories over breakfast :)

The bathroom was amazing..lovely towels and bath products..also nice wee touches eg body lotion/perfumes..and lovely argan oil bodywash :)...great shower :)...only thing was...sharing the bathroom with 2 other rooms you felt you had to rush a bit, in case anyone else wanted to use the loo...i would have loved a bath the night before but its always the same with shared facilities.

We stayed in the twin room which had a fabulous view over the loch...the only wee negative was that the beds were small singles...thought might fall out a couple of times so didnt sleep that great...but lovely bedding and sink in the room.....and caramel wafers and coffee ...a really special place :):):)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plocktoncalum, Owner at MacKenzie's B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for your review and your lovely comments we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I would just like to point out that there is only one other room, a single, that shares the bathroom and there is another toilet so it is a pity you didn't enjoy a bath :) The double room is en suite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This B&B is right on the seafront and our bedroom had lovely views of the bay. Our host Fiona was really friendly and persuaded us both to take a trip on her dad's boat to see the seals. It was a beautiful morning and the scenery fabulous. We enjoyed chatting with Fiona in the open plan dining/kitchen area as she cooked our hearty scottish breakfasts.
The house is 'lived in' and so has the usual everyday clutter we all expect and this helps to make it feel warm and friendly. Our bedroom was quite small compared to others we have stayed in recently but was clean and warm. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: One has an en suite.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews