We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another perfect evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Plockton Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plockton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Plockton
Certificate of Excellence
Glengarnock
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another perfect evening”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Yet another great meal out during our Sailing holiday.
Plockton is one of our favourite places to rest and enjoy a great meal ashore in the most beautiful of settings.
With the beach over the (quiet) road, the kids can eat and then explore whilst we finished off our meal.
An excellent menu for both us and the children.
Genuinely friendly staff. Busy but not overcrowded feel to the place.
Very reasonable price.
We will be back again and again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank atuanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    149
    44
    13
    8
See reviews for
84
252
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights recently with friends, another couple. I had first noticed the superb location when we had visited Scotland 2 years previously and I had wanted to stay there ever since! Both our rooms were at the front above the pub with a fantastic view. The decor, furnishings and size of the room were great and loved the bottled water and robes, a nice touch. The food at breakfast and the 1 meal we had there was gorgeous, lots of choice and delicious. A real gem of a place, although you pay slightly more for this. The only downside to the stay was that it was very noisy outside the bedroom window on the Saturday and Sunday night with people talking loudly on the pavement outside the pub and I felt that the man serving breakfast was too rushed and so seemed unfriendly. The rest of the staff were however pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisW5483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night recently and really enjoyed it. Actual hotel is painted black and is situated right on front in Plockton with great views. The pub area looks very tired and could do with a revamp, however don't let that put you off because the actual rooms and dinning room are fresher and up to date. Our friends had room in hotel which was lovely, big and fairly traditionally decorated with large shower room en suite and a woodburning stove in the room, would be lovely and cosy in winter. Also had private balcony off with outdoor seating area. Our room was in annexe which is a few doors along the road. Looks like a traditional cottage, it has a shared kitchen area and a few bedrooms in it. We had only room upstairs which was great too. Also with door which led to steep patio area with picnic bench which looked over rooftops onto beautiful view. Hotel also has a lovely wee beer garden right on the front which was brilliant. The beautifully sunny weather we had during our stay really enhanced our stay and enabled us to enjoy all the lovely outdoor areas. Plockton really was spectacular in that glorious weather. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauriepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We actually stayed in an annexe house about 50 yards along the road from the main hotel. Our room, a double, was at the back of the house and our window looked out onto a wall. The room was clean and well-maintained with all the amenities that you would expect. The staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful. There is a super restaurant in the hotel - see separate review.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Copey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This hotel is in a glorious location on the harbour front in Plockton and yes, dear American Friends, I know you don't believe me but there ARE PALM TREES. We had a family room which was bright and cheerful, very comfortable, and had everything we needed, including free bottled water, how civilized! There was much too much snoring but that was not the hotel's fault. Possibly the fine single malt was to blame. The staff were lovely, down to earth and friendly and the whole place feels warm and welcoming and homely. Well, somewhat cleaner and tidier than my own home if I'm honest and the food was MUCH BETTER than home! We are dinner in the restaurant and it was so good, especially the sea bream, and the mackerel fried in oatmeal which was out of this world good. Breakfast was also excellent - we had the smoked haddock with poached eggs which was fabulous - but there were other great things on offer too. The location here is the thing, since Plockton is so picturesque and surprising, but the hotel was brilliant and I will dream of returning here one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quakermum39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I stayed here in June 2013, on a solo cycling trip from John o'Groats to Land's End. I was lucky enough to arrive on a sunny evening. Plockton is a stunning village and the Plockton Hotel's location could not be better, right on the harbour. My single room was fine: tidy and functional. Dinner was very good, drawing heavily on the local seafood. The bar was well stocked and buzzing with people and the staff were friendly. I had better food on the West Coast, but not by a long way. I'd happily come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Not_all_those_who
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The hotel is in position "A" in Plockton. Don't let the initial pub setting put you off, the dining room, reception and bedrooms are new, fresh and well appointed. We stayed in room 8 overlooking the loch and islands. The room was fabulous and clean and the view was amazing. Take your binos up to bed with you so that in the morning you can sit by the window and watch seals, birds and beautiful scenery. The staff are very friendly and Plockton is delightful, just what you imagine Scotland in the 1950's would be. The food is good, large portions but pub food not fine dining. That is not a criticism, the service was excellent and breakfast was spot on. We would go back like a shot.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front, Rooms 7 and 8 for definite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExiledTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
13.9 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
541 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
327 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
20.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
988 reviews
24.3 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plockton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plockton Hotel

Property: Plockton Hotel
Address: 41 Harbour Street, Plockton IV52 8TN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Plockton
Hotel Class:2 star — Plockton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plockton Hotel is a family-run hotel in the West Highlands of Scotland. Stunning views, beautiful food and a warm welcome is guaranteed all year round. Follow us for updates on events, special offers, menu changes and local news. We'd love to hear from you too! Please add your reviews, photos and comments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plockton Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing