We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plockton Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plockton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Plockton
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“My favourite place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Wonderful location. Fantastic food. Fantastic service. Lovely rooms. Dream about revisiting You Think the view is the best until you eat. Then you taste the food. The rooms are beautifully decorated with many little extras.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindacor51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    147
    43
    13
    8
See reviews for
81
250
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Feldkirch, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

From our rooms on the second floor we had a perfect view of the natural harbour. Although facing the "main road" it´s very quite - during the night there is no traffic at all. The rooms are a bit oldfashioned, but authentic and comfortable. Good starting point to the isle of Skye.
The food is great here, just make sure that you are not seated in breakfast room. This room is a bit odd.
The service at the hotel, as well as in the pub and in the restaurant is very good.

Room Tip: second floor, facing the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schlattone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Great value for money, friendly welcome, nice location. We stayed in the hotel annex building a few doors down from the main hotel, room was on top floor of two "garden view". Room clean and comfortable ( twin beds), had steps up to own garden area and views do loch. On street parking could be a problem in high season, but we had no problem. We took evening meal in hotel, great service, staff had full knowledge of wide choice menu, food first class as was breakfast. Would definitely recommend and return.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank johnwhite18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just returned from a weekend here with my partner and it was absolutely amazing. From check-in to check out we were made to feel welcome and the food was fabulous. Would definetly recommend a stay here and we will definetly be back

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adele m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have just returned from a short stay at the Plockton Hotel and it was just perfect. From the minute we arrived the staff were so helpful, keen to assist and very friendly. We had my Mum with us to celebrate her 80th birthday and we all thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Although we didn't have a sea view, we looked out onto beautiful gardens to the rear and had a large shared balcony area. In the evening we had a beautiful meal in the hotel bar although you can opt to eat in the restaurant if you prefer. Unprompted at the end of our meal, the lights were dropped and the waitress brought my Mum's sweet out complete with a candle for her birthday! Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice including kippers, smoked salmon/scrambled eggs and a standard cooked breakfast. The only down side was having to leave this idyllic spot. Would highly recommend

Room Tip: Would request a room with a sea view to the front next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeikT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
141 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Location was a major factor in choosing this hotel and we were not disappointed. Check in was swift and our room fronting the sea very good - room 2 on first floor has two steps down into bedroom and 2 steps up into bathroom. We saw room 3 which overlooks the somewhat overgrown garden at the rear-it is much larger than room 2 and has balcony, king size bed, wood burning stove and settee. We preferred room 2 because of sea view. We also saw inside room 4- a single with no outlook - don't bring your cat and hope to swing it!

We were above the bar but our sleep was undesturbed. A nice touch is that you can help yourself to fresh milk in the staff kitchen just along corridor on first floor. Bath water was always piping hot. We did not need heating but our room was heated by electric convector.

Breakfast was served in the rear dining room which looks out onto a canvas covered courtyard - to be honest the courtyard is unloved and seems unused- a pity as 20mins tidy up would have made all the difference. This courtyard leads to a steep overgrown garden which when first landscaped would have been beautiful. Breakfast was served quickly and cheerfully by friendly, helpful staff.

Our evening meals were served in the front dining room and were of mixed quality but satisfactory. Overpriced yes but we must accept that the establishment probably saves very few in winter months.

The bar was busy most of time and had a large variety of cask ales.

But the big down side was the attention to detail. No one swept up the fag ends on the street outside the pub door. The beer garden opposite seemed unloved- flower tubs had been planted 3 months ago and forgotten about - now just a tangle of weeds. Bedding stored in stair well with stacked chairs tables etc. Table clothes thrown on floor in bar. Pity it could easily be so much better.

But don't let this stop you going if such things are unimportant - they are - but you are paying top prices so should expect top quality.
-

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are our choice. Garden rooms give smokers to use their own balcony. Annex rooms appea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Northumberlandscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

It helped that I drove onto the harbourfront at Plockton at 8pm as the setting sun was casting some quite stunning colours across the Loch and the nearby castle – quite magical. The hotel itself was right on the harbour in a perfect location.

The staff are cheerful and friendly and, despite being very busy, provided good service, both on arrival and in the bar and restaurant. I had a single room at the back of the hotel. Some might have found it a little gloomy but I spent little time in it, other than to sleep. In any event, the price reflected the room. It was comfortable and well appointed and I enjoyed a good night’s sleep. I ate an excellent and well priced dinner in the restaurant; breakfast was of a similarly high standard.

In sum, highly recommended. I just hope the weather is as good to me the next time I am there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
13.9 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
20.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
4.0 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plockton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plockton Hotel

Property: Plockton Hotel
Address: 41 Harbour Street, Plockton IV52 8TN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Plockton
Hotel Class:2 star — Plockton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Plockton Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing