We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveller rating
302
180
59
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
180
59
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel beer garden the main hotel great food the pub varied menu sea view prawns fresh milk small hotel both nights herring seafood lovely view isle of skye dining room palm trees
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 572 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016

I'm keeping it brief. We had a room in the cottage for two nights. Loved the room and the view out of the window across the water.

Food was served in the main hotel. Breakfast was the most varied menu we had anywhere doing our stay in Scotland. Smoked salmon and eggs were a great start to the day but we also enjoyed the cooked breakfast on Day 1.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Mags was lovely and full of tips to make the best of our time there.

I really recommend more than two nights as Plockton is such a great place.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ruthwelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Hadn't stayed here for about 30 years and didn't realise it is now double the size it used to be with addition of the adjoining property. There is a small beer garden on the shore front opposite the hotel which was perfect for a sundowner. Room excellent, complete with robes, which was unexpected. Views fabulous, food fantastic and all freshly cooked. Could not fault the whole experience, Friendly, obliging staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jmac23_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We stayed two nights recently, only able at short notice to book an annexe room with a smooth transfer to a hotel room with a sea view. We had a problem with a flat battery on a Sunday morning, nothing was too much trouble for the very kind owners, jump leads were located while we were given coffee on comfy sofas in reception, we were soon off on our trip armed with useful local garage contact numbers in case of need. Our annexe room had the bonus of a balcony and steps up to seats with a view over the beautiful bay. The breakfast was outstanding with a choice including three fish options, local kippers ( the best I have had ) smoked salmon with a huge helping of nice scrambled egg, local poached smoked haddock,.....delicious. All the staff were helpful despite being busy and the owner was delightful. We can really recommend this as a delightful place to stay. Lots of nice, thoughtful extras, obviously doing their very best to look after their customers well.

Room Tip: Front room with a view
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VincentAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We booked the hotel quite late, so were warned, in advance, that we would have a room above the bar on the first night and then one at the rear the second night.

The first room was perfectly fine; indeed it had excellent views over the shore and beyond. However, as we had been warned, the noise from the bar below was a little intrusive.The second room was larger, quieter, had a Four Poster (modern version) bed and looked out to the garden.

The staff could not have been more helpful, both in moving our cases between rooms and more generally.

The breakfasts were excellent, hardly surprising, given the quality of the restaurant.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our return to The Plockton Hotel and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: If you go to bed late, then the room above the bar, with stunning views, would suit you.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

I stayed here for two nights on a recent tour of the Highlands. It was a very pleasant place. Our room as on the 2nd floor and had all the amenities of a suite including an outdoor balcony looking at the back gardens. The staff here is very friendly, breakfast was included and very good, dinner was also very good. I especially loved the area across the street from the bar where you could take your pint and look at the bay to what was going on. Perfect spot! Actually it was hard not to stay in the bar where you could also meet locals who were very friendly and fun to chat with. So glad we ended up here instead of Portree which was so busy with tourists. It was just the type of place I had had in mind when I thought about the Highlands.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamwZ2304NU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews