We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveller rating
299
179
58
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
179
58
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelbeer gardenthe main hotelgreat foodthe pubvaried menusea viewprawnsfresh milksmall hotelboth nightsherringseafoodlovely viewisle of skyedining roompalm trees
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 567 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We had 3 rooms at the Plockton Hotel in this small village close to the Isle of Skye. The food was very good and tasty breakfast that is part of the hotel rate. What really stands out -- excellent customer service from Mags at the front desk.

My husband loves this special gin that can only be found from a small Scottish island. Mags was so helpful in helping me track down this elusive gin. Eventually I was able to buy 1 bottle, which made my hubby so happy! She went above and beyond to help us with an inquiry not really related to the hotel. She also gave great tips on visiting Isle of Skye. Thank you Mags for all your help!

Highly recommend Plockton Hotel for the very clean rooms and helpful customer service. Bring your umbrellas as the town gets a lot of rain that changes quickly.

Room Tip: The Annex room is cute, but NO wifi there.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Katietravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

The view from our room (7) was amazing, and just kept drawing your eyes back to it - continually changing depending on the weather and time of day, but always great. The staff were lovely, and really looked after us well. We ate in the bar on all 3 nights, and the food was well cooked and very tasty, especially the local seafood. The hotel reserved us a table by the window each night. There was a friendly atmosphere in the bar all the time. Outside, there is a covered deck so you can drink & eat outside and take in the views, even when it's raining.

Our room was spacious with a good bathroom and very comfortable, and we slept really well. My only criticism would be that we could always hear when the people in the next room were plugging in an electrical appliance - but that was the only noise that travelled. We did not hear any noise from the bar downstairs.

At £140 per night B&B for a king size room it is quite expensive but worth that bit extra - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 7 had fantastic views
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Holiday-Dreamer1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

As Plockton books up, i was lucky to get a room in the Annex of the Plocton Hotel. The room was very clean, bathroom was spotless and it was very quiet. The dining room was separate for hotel guests so we all had guaranteed tables. Dinner was very good, and while the service was a bit slow, the staff were going flat out so they may have been very busy. Everyone was very friendly. The wifi is only available in the bar and does not reach the annex.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel a month in advance and when we arrived they claimed we had no booking. The staff were extremely unhelpful. As Plockton is such a small place and extremely busy in summer there isn't many options but my advice would be to stay at the Plockton Inn up the road where the staff are friendly, the rooms are comfortable and the food is fantastic.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Aberdeen_Geo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel about three times in the past 5 years and decided to take a detour from our trip home and see if we could overnight somewhere in this wonderful village with its awesome scenery.

We were really surprised that the Plockton Hotel had a cancellation and could put us into one of their sea view rooms! You normally need to book quite a long way in advance - so suggest that as the best way to ensure you're not disappointed.

The entirety of the pub / hotel / eaterie / ambience is spot on.

Craft beers and a huge range of whiskies to choose from. Both tourists and locals in the bar which is always a good sign.

Super clean, modern well appointed rooms - get a sea view if you can to really enhance your visit.

Fantastic food, with a menu focused on sea food (obviously ☺) but with sufficient range to keep most people happy if sea food is not their thing. Irrespective of where we stay, we always eat and drink here. Breakfast - brilliant!

Staff. Busy people but always friendly and happy to help with anything, be it your room or your agenda.

And the vista... well, you need to experience that for yourself.

The Plockton Hotel is an easy 5 out of 5 for me - see you next time!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews